Pulse.ng logo

Buhari See full list of ministers according to geo-political zones

President Muhammadu Buhari's ministers show a list that has every state represented at the Federal Capital Territory.

  • Published:

President Muhammadu Buhari finally inaugurated his ministers after months of anticipation, and as expected, there are a few surprises.

SEE: Photos of ministers during swearing-in

Below is a breakdown of the ministers according to Nigeria's 6 Geo-political zones:

North-Central, North-East, North-West, South-East, South-South, and South-West.


This region has 3 senior ministers and 3 ministers of state.

Benue - Chief Audu Ogbeh: Agriculture

Kogi - Mr James Ocholi: State, Labour & Employment

Kwara - Alh Lai Mohammed: Information & Culture

Nassarawa - Alh Ibrahim Usman Jibril: State, Environment

Niger - Hon Abubakar BwariState, Solid Minerals

Plateau - Mr Solomon Dalong: Youth & Sports



This is the region of the country worst hit by insurgency. It has 4 senior ministers and 2 ministers of state.

Adamawa - Alh Muhammadu Bello: FCT

Bauchi - Malam Adamu Adamu: Education

Borno - Hon Mustapha Shehuri: State, Power,Works & Housing

Gombe - Mrs Amina Mohammed: Environment

Taraba - Sen Aisha Al-Hassan: Women Affairs

Yobe - Hon Khadija Bukar Abba-Ibrahim: State, Foreign Affairs



This region has some of the most influential states in the North including a commercial nerve. It produced 4 senior ministers and 3 ministers of state.

Jigawa - Engr Suleiman AdamuWater Resources

Kaduna - Mrs Zainab Ahmed Usman: State,Budget & National Planning

Kano - Lt-Gen Ibrahim Danbazzau(Rtd): Interior

Katsina - Sen Hadi Sirika: State, Transport(Aviation)

Kebbi - Mr Abubakar Malami: Justice

Sokoto - Ms Aisha AbubakarState, Industries, Trade & Investments

Zamfara - Brig-Gen Dan Alli(Rtd):Defence


This is one of Nigeria's most enterprising hubs with two commercial hubs and so much untapped potential. It has 4 senior ministers and 1 minister of state in critical portfolios, these include:

Abia - Dr Okwechukwu EnelamahIndustries,Trade & Investment

Anambra - Sen(Dr) Chris NgigeLabour & Employment

Ebonyi - Dr Ogbonnaya OnuScience & Technology

Enugu - Mr Geoffrey OnyemaForeign Affairs

Imo - Prof Anthony OnwukaState, Education



This region is the oil capital of Nigeria. It has  3 senior ministers and 3 ministers of state with strategic and vital portfolios.

Akwa Ibom - Senator Udoma Udo Udoma: Budget & National Planning

Bayelsa - Sen Heineken Lokpobiri: State, Agriculture

Cross River - Pastor Usani Uguru: Niger-Delta Affairs

Delta - Dr Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu: State, Petroleum

Edo - Dr Osagie Ehanire: State, Health

Rivers - Rt Hon Rotimi Amaechi: Transportation



This region is most notable for having Nigeria's commercial capital. Its has 5 senior ministers and 1 minister of state. It is also noteworthy that the ministers in this region are going to be key in shaping the current administration.

Ekiti - Dr Kayode FayemiSolid Minerals

Lagos - Mr Babatunde Raji Fashola: Power, Works & Housng

Ogun - Mrs Kemi AdeosunFinance

Ondo Prof Claudius DaramolaState, Niger-Delta Affairs

Osun- Prof Isaac Adewole: Health

Oyo Mr Adebayo Shittu: Communications

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.