Former INEC Chairman gets international award

Jega, who presided over Nigeria’s 2015 elections, was named the 2015 Electoral Commissioner of the Year.

Professor Attahiru Jega

Former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Professor Attahiru Jega has been honoured with an award by the International Centre for Parliamentary Studies (ICPS) of the United Kingdom.

The award was presented at the Centre’s 11th International Affairs Symposium and Award Ceremony in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico over the weekend.

“The Centre’s primary focus is the empowerment of Human Capital through Capacity Building. To this effect, the Centre organises a range of Training Programmes, Conferences and Policy Discussions to address current public policy issues on the International Stage, in the European Union and the UK. These provide a forum for policy discussion, debate, networking and sharing of best practices,” the panel of judges which named Jega winner said according to Daily Trust.

The former INEC Chairman has received worldwide accolade over the conduct of Nigeria’s general elections.


See Pulse photo gallery below:


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:


Recommended articles

NRC to begin Sunday service on Lagos-Ibadan railway

Buhari greets Reps Speaker, Gbajabiamila at 59

Buhari appoints Jime as Executive Secretary of Nigerian Shippers Council

Sanwo-Olu rewards Ajunwa with 3-bedroom flat 25 years after her Olympic feat

President Buhari allocates 3-bedroom houses to 1994 Super Eagles squad

President Buhari is off to London again to keep a date with his doctors

Gbajabiamila celebrates birthday mate Gov Sanwo-Olu at 56

Reps accuse Polaris Bank of suspicious dealings over $300m NNPC deposit

Ondo University students protest over rape, armed robbery by hoodlums