Agbaje won the PDP's primary election with 1,100 votes to beat his only opponent, Deji Doherty (742 votes), according to the result announced on Friday, October 5, 2018.

Agbaje lost the 2015 governorship election to current governor, Akinwunmi Ambode, by over 150,000 votes, before also losing the national chairmanship of the PDP to Uche Secondus in 2017.

ALSO READ: Is Jimi Agbaje really serious about being Governor of Lagos?

Ambode failed in his bid to contest for a second term and lost the APC's ticket to Sanwo-Olu earlier this week. With Sanwo-Olu being endorsed by former governor and national leader of the APC, Bola Tinubu, Agbaje will have his work cut out for him to emerge victorious.