Pulse.ng logo

Budget Padding Jibrin drags Dogara, 12 lawmakers to EFCC, ICPC, wants them jailed

Jibrin arrived ICPC premises in company of over 10 lawyers on Monday, August 1, 2016.

  • Published: , Refreshed:
House of Reps Speaker, Yakubu Dogara and Abdulmumin Jibrin play

House of Reps Speaker, Yakubu Dogara and Abdulmumin Jibrin


Join the "sabi" clique. Don't miss a thing, get the latest updates to fuel your conversation daily

By signing up , you agree to our Privacy Policy and European users agree to the data transfer policy

Thank You! You have successfully subscribed to receive pulse.ng daily newsletter.

Abdulmumnin Jibrin, the sacked chairman of the House committee on appropriation, has officially submitted his petition against Speaker Yakubu Dogara and 12 others to anti-graft agencies in Nigeria.

Jibrin who arrived the premises of the Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission (ICPC) in company of over ten lawyer on Monday, August 1, 2016 noted that those found guilty should be sent to jail immediately in line with President Muhammadu Buhari administration's disdain corruption.

He said: "I am here to submit a formal petition and give further clarification and insight on the allegation of corruption, abuse of trust and office by Mr Speaker, Yakubu Dogara, his deputy, Yusuf Lasun, the whip of the House Alhassan Dogwa, the minority leader of the House, Leo Ogor and nine other members of the House who are also chairmen of different other committees.

"We have submitted the petition, the chairman of the commission received us in person. We exchanged a couple of ideas on how to move forward. I hope to see a very quick commencement of investigations so that these corrupt set of Nigerians can be prosecuted in earnest and if found guilty, sent to jail immediately so that it will send a very powerful signal of the anti-corruption fight of this government."

ALSO READ: Budget Padding Scandal: APC to replace Speaker Dogara with Femi Gbajabiamila?

Others on the list include; chairman, FCT Herma Hembe; chairman higher education, Zakari Mohammed; chairman health, Chike Okafor; chairman power, Dan Asuquo; chairman marine transport, Mohammed Bago; Chairman Police, Haliru Jika; chairman interior, Jagaba Adams and chairman House services, Babanle Ila.

Honourable Abonta Abonta's name also made the list today. "I added one new name to my petition, Hon Abonta Abonta", Jibrin said.

"The member who spoke after me on channels and denied corruption exists in the House. Let me use Hon Abonta as a case. I have asked the anti graft agencies to investigate his office running cost. Wait for the shocking outcome," he added.

Jibrin became a self-proclaimed corruption fighter shortly after he was removed as chairman of the House committee on appropriation.

The lawmaker has also denied his involvement in the alleged padding of the 2016 appropriation bill.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.