Pulse.ng logo

Ngige, Kachikwu, Adeosun, Fayemi 4 ministers, NLC members join technical committee on fuel price hike

The 16-member committee comprises representatives of organised labour and that of the government, the statement said.

  • Published:

Join the "sabi" clique. Don't miss a thing, get the latest updates to fuel your conversation daily

By signing up , you agree to our Privacy Policy and European users agree to the data transfer policy

Thank You! You have successfully subscribed to receive pulse.ng daily newsletter.

The Federal Government will on Thursday inaugurate the technical committee constituted to address the grievance of labour over the increase in the pump price of Premium Motor Spirit (PMS) commonly known as petrol, a statement said. said.

The statement was issued and signed by Mr Mohammed Bukar, the Permanent Secretary, General Services Office in the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), on Wednesday in Abuja.

According to the statement, the committee will also examine other consequential matters arising from the hike in petrol price.

The 16-member committee comprises representatives of organised labour and that of the government, the statement said.

It identified representatives of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) in the committee as Peters Adeyemi, Amaechi Asugwuni, Ibrahim Khaleel, Igwe Achese and Segun Efan while those of the Trade Union Congress (TUC) include Augustine Etafo, Alade Lawal and Abdullahi Sale.

Leading the government representatives is the Minister of Labour and Employment, Sen. Chris Ngige, who is also the committee Chairman, while a representative of the Office of the SGF will serve as the secretary, the statement said.

Other members of the government team are the Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Dr Ibe Kachikwu, the Minister of Budget and National Planning, Sen. Udoma Udo Udoma, and the Minister of Finance, Mrs. Kemi Adeosun.

The list of government representatives also include the Minister of Solid Minerals, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, Chief Richard Egbule, Chairman, National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission and Prof. Adamu Usman, a representative of the Office of the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, it said. 

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.