The upper legislative chamber has confirmed the appointment of seven Resident Electoral Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Wednesday, February 14, 2018.

During plenary on Wednesday, lawmakers confirmed the appointments that were made last year by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The confirmed nominees are Baba Yusuf (Borno), Dr. Uthman Ajidagba (Kwara), Segun Agbaje (Ekiti), Dr. Cyril Omorogbe (Edo), Yahaya Bello (Nasarawa), Dr. Emmanuel Alex Hart (Rivers) and Mohammed Ibrahim (Gombe).

Speaking after the confirmation, Senate President, Bukola Saraki, congratulated the new commissioners.

"I want to congratulate the newly confirmed Resident Electoral Commissioners. This has come at a very important time before the 2019 elections, to sustain electoral processes in the country that will meet global standards," he said.