Pulse.ng logo

National University Commission NUC approves 47th state university in Nigeria

Zamfara is the last state to have its state-owned university and its new varsity is 162nd in Nigeria.

  • Published:
NUC approves 47th state university in Nigeria play

NUC approves Zamfara State University as the 47th state university in Nigeria.


The National University Commission has on Monday, March 12, approved Zamfara State University as the 47th state-owned university and 162nd in Nigeria.

The Executive Secretary of the NUC, Prof  Abubakar Rasheed announced the approval during a meeting with the Governor of Zamfara, Abdulaziz Yari state in Abuja.

According to Mr. Rasheed, Zamfara State University will become the 47th state university in the country with effect from  March 12.

Zamfara Govt calls for deployment of more policemen play

Zamfara state governor Abdulaziz Yari



“I write on behalf of NUC that with effect from Monday, March 12, the Zamfara State University is approved as the 47th state university and also 162 universities in Nigeria.

“Zamfara is the last state to establish a university. But the establishment is apt when you will have to key into the reform programme the NUC is having now and will be of benefit to you.

“The NUC is looking at how we can be more effective in our regulation of all universities in Nigeria.”

The NUC Secretary also said that JAMB, TETFund and NYSC had been notified of the establishment of the university.

ALSO READ: Here's how to check your UTME result

NUC approved six private universities in December, 2017

In December 2017, the NUC approved six private universities which include two medical universities, one Naval University in Delta state.

5 things you should know about first private Medical University play

PAMO Medical University of Medical Sciences Library



The universities were Admiralty University in Ibusa, Delta state, owned by the Naval Holding Company, Spiritan University in Nneochi, Abia state and  Precious Cornerstone University in Ibadan.

Others are PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Port Harcourt,  Atibe University in Oyo town, Oyo State and Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences, Lagos.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.

Top 3

1 Looking for A Job? How to write a stunning application letterbullet
2 WASSCE WAEC postpones English Language exam to Saturday, September 29,...bullet
3 National Youth Service Corps NYSC releases mobilization timetable...bullet

Student Pulse