Eyitayo Jegede (SAN) has won the ticket of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to contest in the Ondo governorship election.

Jegede defeated seven other aspirants in the party's primary election that took place in Akure, the state capital, on Wednesday, July 22, 2020.

Chairman of the primary election committee, Enugu's Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, declared Jegede the winner in the early hours of Thursday, July 23, with a total of 888 votes.

Agboola Ajayi, Ondo's current deputy governor who dumped the All Progressives Congress (APC) to realise his governor ambition, finished second with 657 votes.

Others who contested in the election are Olorogun Olafeso (175 votes), Bode Ayorinde (95), Banji Okunomo (90), Boluwaji Kunlere (33), Olusola Ebiseni (29), and Goddey Erewa (14).

In his acceptance speech, Jegede fired a warning at the APC and its candidate, incumbent Governor Rotimi Akeredolu, that the PDP will win the October 10 Ondo governorship election.

"By the grace of God, with the assistance of the people, and the support of party members and all the aspirants, we will take over the government of Ondo State on October 10," he said.

Governor Rotimi Akeredolu is eyeing a second term in office [Twitter/@RotimiAkeredolu]
Governor Rotimi Akeredolu is eyeing a second term in office [Twitter/@RotimiAkeredolu]

Akeredolu comfortably defeated Jegede in the 2016 election that clinched his first term in the Ondo Government House, and he's keen on a second term in office.

The governor swept to overwhelming victory over seven other aspirants in the APC's primary election which took place on Monday, July 20.

"4+4 is the code for continuity," the 63-year-old governor posted on Twitter after confirmation of his victory.

Jegede and Akeredolu are expected to be the main contenders for the October 10 election.