The World Bank has reportedly selected 16 Nigerian Universities as Centre of Excellence in different academic endeavours.

The World Bank selected Lagos State University (LASU) as a Centre of Excellence for Innovative and Transformative STEM Education, while Covenant University, Ota, Ogun State, received ACE award in Applied Informatics and Communication.

According to the News Agency of Nigeria, other Nigerian Universities and the centres they are, ACE in ICT Driven Knowledge Park, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife.

Obafemi Awolowo University Gate.
Obafemi Awolowo University Gate.

Centre for Oilfield Chemicals Research (CEFOR), University of Port-Harcourt; ACE for Genomics of Infectious Diseases, Redeemer’s University, Ede; and ACE on Neglected Tropical Diseases and Forensic Biotechnology, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria.

ACE in Reproductive Health and Innovation went to University of Benin; Centre for Dryland Agriculture, Bayero University, Kano; and Centre for Food Technology and Research (CEFTER), Benue State University, Makurdi.

ACE in Applied Informatics and Communication was given to Covenant University, Ota; Centre for Public Health and Toxicological Research (PUTOR), University of Port Harcourt; ACE for Sustainable Power and Energy Development, University of Nigeria Nsukka.

ACE on Technology Enhanced Learning (ACETEL) was given to National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN); and ACE in Future Energies and Electrochemical Systems (ACE-FUELS), Federal University of Technology, Owerri.

ACE on New Pedagogies in Engineering Education (ACENPEE), Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria; ACE for Drug Research, Herbal Medicine Development and Regulatory Science (ACEDRHMDRS), University of Lagos.

ACE for Mycotoxin and Food Safety was given to Federal University of Technology, Minna; and Centre for Population Health and Policy (ACEPHAP), Bayero University, Kano.

ACE means Africa Centres of Excellence for Development Impact (ACE Impact).