Pulse, Google, FRSC and others emerge winners at awards night

Nira awards recognises and celebrates organisations contributing to the growth of the .ng domain registration.

The awards held at Oriental hotel on Friday, April 21, 2017 recognises and acknowledges companies and organisations contributing to the growth of the .ng domain name registration.

NiRA is the registry for Nigerian Internet Domain Names (.ng) which maintains the database of names registered in the .ng country code Top Level Domain.

The second edition of the NiRA awards started off with the national anthem which was led by a musical band; The police band. Next up was an opening speech by the chairman NiRA, Reverend Sunday Folayan.

Present at the event were board of trustees and board of directors, NiRA and other dignitaries in the country.

See the full list of winners below:

Best Primary school portal - Ifako International schools, Lagos

Best Secondary school portal- Shepherd international college, Nassarawa

Best Tertiary institution portal- University of Uyo

Digital innovation in local government- Amuwo odofin

Digital innovation in state- Lagos state

Digital innovation in federal government- Federal Road Safety Commission

Public sector star- National bureau of statistics

Making the internet a better place- National Information Technology Development Agency

Best print media- The Guardian Nigeria

Best media online website- Pulse Nigeria

Best electronic media (television)- Iroko

Best electronic media (radio)- Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria

Most valuable youth organisation- National Youth Service Corps

Startup company of the year- Eazyhire

Best payment website- Nigeria Inter-Bank Settlement System

Best Insurance company- Nigeria Social Insurance Trust Fund

Best banking website- Bank of Industry

Most innovative service provider- Jiji Nigeria

Company of the year- Google Nigeria

The night was light up by a wonderful dance performance by a group of orphans who formed a dance group called the Xplicit dance group.

For the Presidential awards,

Best .ng registrar: This award was split into four categories.

1. Silver- netorb media ltd

2. Gold- Icecool ltd

3. Platinum- McReal online networks

4. Standard level- Whogohost ltd

Youth Development award- Startuparewa.ng

Women Development award- Saferinternet.org.ng

Supporting  media partner- Guardian newspaper and Technology times

Special recognition of outstanding board members award- Mr Biyi Oladipo

Special recognition award- Mrs JAF Olushola.

The dinner award night of course wouldn't be referred to one without foods and drinks to go round.

Congratulations to all who won in one category or the other.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng

Recommended articles

9-year-old allegedly identified as person who set Ebeano supermarket on fire

President Buhari jets off to London to see his doctors

Van Vicker finally graduates from university after 24 years

Lady seen setting Ebeano supermarket on fire in Abuja

BBNaija 2021: All you need to know about the 22 housemates

Nigeria’s basketball team lose their opening game at Tokyo Olympic Games

Badagry Slave Route: Slaves passed these 5 notable stops on their journey of no return

5 things you must say goodbye to after you get married

Burna Boy, Davido, Ed Sheeran, Coldplay, Doja Cat, others announced for Global Citizen Live event