Saraki loses Kwara Central senatorial seat to APC opponent, Oloriegbe

Senate President, Bukola Saraki.

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) lost to his APC opponent in all four local councils in the senatorial district with the final result standing at 123,808 votes to his own 68,994.

According to the results announced by INEC, Oloriegbe beat Saraki with 15,932 votes to 11,252 in Asa; 30,014 votes to 14,654 in Ilorin East; 26,331 votes to 13,013 in Ilorin South; and 51,531 votes to 30,075 in Ilorin West.

Saraki served as Kwara State governor for two terms between 2003 and 2011 when he was first elected to the Senate before he was elected Senate President after winning re-election in 2015.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:


Recommended articles

Bandits kill many people in 10 Kaduna villages in latest wave of violence

'A labourer deserves his pay,' Joe Igbokwe unhappy 'political prostitute' FFK met Buhari before him

No automatic 2023 presidential ticket for Jonathan, APC says

Court directs FG, NARD to proceed with suit as negotiation to end doctors' strike fails

Court orders DSS to pay Igboho N20 billion for illegal raid of his house

Gov Umahi calls Fani-Kayode a liar, says he played no role in his defection

Nigeria records 7 COVID-19 deaths, 601 new infections in 17 states

Orji Kalu calls for united, peaceful Nigeria

UNIBEN Senate approves removal of N20,000 fee, lectures resume Sept 20