Full List: How Senators voted to hand control of electronic transmission of votes to NCC, themselves

The vote on electronic transmission was split strictly along party lines.

Nigerian senators [Tope Brown]

Senators finally passed the long-awaited Electronic Act Amendment Bill on Thursday, July 15, 2021 after hours of consideration that included heated arguments.

The provision for electronic transmission of election results, as expected, was a major highlight of yesterday's vote.

The Senate Committee on the Independent National Electoral Committee (INEC) had in its report recommended that the agency be in control of the decision to deploy electronic transmission or not.

However, Senator Sabi Abudullahi proposed an amendment that the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) be empowered to first certify that national coverage is adequate and secure before INEC can make such a decision.

The amendment also stated that the National Assembly must approve the decision.

The rushed passage of this amendment in two separate voice votes split the chamber, and senators eventually decided to divide votes so that individual votes could be recorded on the matter.

52 senators eventually voted for the amendment, while 28 voted for INEC to retain total control.

The vote was split along party lines as senators of the All Progressives Congress (APC) voted for, and senators of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) voted against.

The chamber is controlled by an APC majority.

28 senators were absent from the session, and Senate President Ahmad Lawan did not have to vote because there was no deadlock.

Here's the full list of how senators voted:

In favour of NCC and National Assembly control:

  1. Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia North - APC)
  2. Aishatu Dahiru Ahmed (Adamawa Central - APC)
  3. Ishaku Abbo (Adamawa North - APC)
  4. Jika Dauda Haliru (Bauchi Central - APC)
  5. Lawal Gamau (Bauchi South - APC)
  6. Degi Eremienyo (Bayelsa East - APC)
  7. Kashim Shettima (Borno Central - APC)
  8. Abubakar Kyari (Borno North - APC)
  9. Ali Ndume (Borno South - APC)
  10. Stephen Odey (Cross River North - APC)
  11. Ovie Omo-Agege (Delta Central - APC)
  12. Peter Nwaoboshi (Delta North - APC)
  13. Opeyemi Bamidele (Ekiti Central - APC)
  14. Francis Alimikhena (Edo North - APC)
  15. Mohammed Danjuma Goje (Gombe Central - APC)
  16. Alkali Saidu (Gombe North - APC)
  17. Amos Bulus (Gombe South - APC)
  18. Francis Ibezim (Imo North - APC)
  19. Hadejia Hassan Ibrahim (Jigawa North-East - APC)
  20. Danladi Sankara (Jigawa North-West - APC)
  21. Kabiru Gaya (Kano South - APC)
  22. Suleiman Abdul Kwari (Kaduna North - APC)
  23. Abdullahi Barkiya (Katsina Central - APC)
  24. Ahmad Kaita (Katsina North - APC)
  25. Bello Mandiya (Katsina South - APC)
  26. Adamu Aliero (Kebbi Central - APC)
  27. Yahaya Abdullahi (Kebbi North - APC)
  28. Uba Sani (Kaduna Central - APC)
  29. Isah Jibrin (Kogi East - APC)
  30. Yakubu Oseni (Kogi Central - APC)
  31. Smart Adeyemi (Kogi West - APC)
  32. Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe (Kwara Central - APC)
  33. Ashiru Yisa (Kwara South - APC)
  34. Oluremi Tinubu (Lagos Central - APC)
  35. Solomon Adeola (Lagos West - APC)
  36. Godiya Akwashiki (Nasarawa North - APC)
  37. Tanko Al-Makura (Nasarawa South - APC)
  38. Abdullahi Adamu (Nasarawa West - APC)
  39. Mohammed Sani Musa (Niger East - APC)
  40. Sabi Abdullahi (Niger North - APC)
  41. Mohammed Enagi (Niger South - APC)
  42. Bashir Ajibola (Osun Central - APC)
  43. Aderele Oriolowo (Osun West - APC)
  44. Ajayi Boroffice (Ondo North - APC)
  45. Hezekiah Dimka Ayuba (Plateau Central - APC)
  46. Nora Ladi Dadu'ut (Plateau South - APC)
  47. Abdullahi Gobir (Sokoto East - APC)
  48. Yusuf Yusuf (Taraba Central - APC)
  49. Shuaibu Lau (Taraba North - APC)
  50. Bomai Ibrahim Mohammed (Yobe South - APC)
  51. Sahabi Ya'u (Zamfara North - APC)
  52. Lawali Anka (Zamfara West - APC)

In favour of INEC control:

  1. Enyinnaya Abaribe (Abia South - PDP)
  2. Philip Aduda (Abuja FCT - PDP)
  3. Eyakenyi Akon Etim (Akwa Ibom South - PDP)
  4. Bassey Albert Akpan (Akwa Ibom North-East - PDP)
  5. Christopher Ekpenyong (Akwa Ibom North-West - PDP)
  6. Cleopas Zuwoghe (Bayelsa Central - PDP)
  7. Seriake Dickson (Bayelsa West - PDP) 
  8. Emmanuel Orker-jev (Benue North-West - PDP)
  9. Sandy Onor (Cross River Central - PDP)
  10. Gershom Bassey (Cross River South - PDP)
  11. James Manager (Delta South - PDP)
  12. Obinna Ogba (Ebonyi Central - PDP)
  13. Sam Egwu (Ebonyi North - PDP)
  14. Nnachi Ama Micheal (Ebonyi South - PDP)
  15. Clifford Ordia (Edo Central - PDP)
  16. Matthew Urhoghide (Edo South - PDP)
  17. Biodun Olujimi (Ekiti South - PDP)
  18. Chukwuka Utazi (Enugu North - PDP)
  19. Francis Onyewuchi (Imo East - PDP)
  20. Danjuma La'ah (Kaduna South - PDP)
  21. Patrick Ayo Akinyelure (Ondo Central - PDP)
  22. Francis Adenigba Fadahunsi (Osun East - PDP)
  23. Kola Balogun (Oyo South - PDP)
  24. Gyang Istifanus (Plateau North - PDP)
  25. George Sekibo (Rivers East - PDP)
  26. Mpigi Barinada (Rivers South-East - PDP)
  27. Betty Apiafi (Rivers West - PDP)
  28. Ibrahim Abdullahi Danbaba (Sokoto South - PDP)
  1. Theodore Orji (Abia Central - PDP)
  2. Yaroe Binos Dauda (Adamawa South - PDP)
  3. Uche Ekwunife (Anambra Central - PDP)
  4. Stella Oduah (Anambra North - PDP)
  5. Ifeanyi Uba (Anambra South - YPP)
  6. Mohammed Bulkachuwa (Bauchi North - APC)
  7. Gabriel Suswam (Benue North-East - PDP)
  8. Abba Moro (Benue South - PDP)
  9. Olubunmi Adetunmbi (Ekiti North - APC)
  10. Chimaroke Nnamani (Enugu East - PDP)
  11. Ike Ekweramadu (Enugu West - PDP)
  12. Rochas Okorocha (Imo West - APC)
  13. Mohammed Sabo (Jigawa South-West - APC)
  14. Ibrahim Shekarau (Kano Central - APC)
  15. Barau Jibrin (Kano North - APC)
  16. Bala Ibn Na'Allah (Kebbi South - APC)
  17. Umar Sadiq (Kwara North - APC)
  18. Adetokunbo Abiru (Lagos East - APC)
  19. Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun Central - APC)
  20. Olalekan Mustapha (Ogun East - APC)
  21. Tolu Odebiyi (Ogun West - APC)
  22. Nicholas Tofowomo (Ondo South - PDP)
  23. Teslim Folarin (Oyo Central - APC)
  24. Buhari Abdulfatai (Oyo North - APC)
  25. Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto North - APC)
  26. Emmanuel Bwacha (Taraba South - APC)
  27. Ibrahim Gaidam (Yobe East - APC)
  28. Mohammed Hassan (Zamfara Central - APC)


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng

Recommended articles

Crisis trails creation of 19 LCDAs in Ekiti, as community writes Fayemi

Lagos Assembly reduces ex-governors’ pensions by 50%

2 killed as armed robbers attack banks in Osun

PDP BoT meets to resolve leadership crisis

Nigerian Army donates 2 classroom blocks to Bauchi school

NGO provides free cataract surgeries for 550 patients in Jigawa - Official

Nigeria can't be divided, our constitution has taken care of that – Ganduje

FG sign $13m MoU on e-governance with Korea

Cholera kills 100 people in Jigawa in 3 weeks