Sanwo-Olu announces names of police officers who assaulted #ENDSARS protesters in Surulere

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State has announced the names of the police officers who assaulted #ENDSARS protesters in the Surulere area of the state.

Lagos state Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu. [Twitter/@Jidesanwoolu]

In a short video shared on Twitter by Jubril Gawat, the Senior Special Assistant to the Governor on New Media, the governor gave the names of the four officers as, Bagou Michael, Ekpoudom Etop, Nnamdi Madura, and Akinyemi Benson.

In a video that recently went viral, one of the officers was seen dragging one of the ENDSARS protesters across the road to their station as others joined him in assaulting the lady.

Sanwo-Olu also condemned the attack on protesters at Alausa on Thursday, saying the Lagos State Government knows nothing about it.

He also disclosed that the request of the youths to release arrested protesters has been fulfilled.

The governor also promised to get any protesters arrested by the police out immediately.

For over a week, Nigerian youths have been protesting and demanding an end to police brutality and extrajudicial killings.

However, despite the dissolution of SARS by the IGP, the nationwide protests have intensified.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:


Recommended articles

NDLEA says it arrests 2,180 traffickers in 5 months

My faith in young generation is unshakable — Aisha Buhari

Court orders FG to pay Bayelsa govt $951m derivative arrears

Young Niger Delta leaders proffer solutions for peace in the region

Buhari greets former IGP Solomon Arase at 65

Customs vows to detain private jets whose owners fail to comply with verification order

JAMB reschedules exam for candidates in delisted CBT centres, asks them to print notification slips

Kwara govt evicts Saraki-owned football club from Ilorin stadium complex

#BuhariMustGo protesters just blocked the airport road in Abuja