The establishment of eight private universities have been approved by the federal government.

The announcement was made on Wednesday, November 2, 2016 by the minister of state for education, Anthony Anwuka.

The universities are Anchor University, Ayobo, Lagos; Arthur Jarvis Akpabuyo University, Calabar, Cross River; Clifford University, Owerinta, Abia; Coal City University, Enugu; Crown Hill University, Kwara.

Others are Dominican University, Ibadan, Oyo; Kola Daisy University, also in Ibadan; and Legacy University, Okija, Anambra State.

Anwuka made the disclosure while addressing state house correspondents after the end of the federal executive council (FEC).

The minister said the the approval is coming after the NUC made recommendation and the ministry of education took it on to seek for approval.