Each Monday, we do our research and put up a

This week, we are focusing on The Apostolic Church Nigeria, its beliefs and a little history.

Here are 11 things that are NEVER going to change about this denomination.

1. The belief in the one true and living God who eternally exists in three persons in unity: Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

2. The belief in the utter depravity of human nature; the necessity for The necessity of repentance and regeneration by grace and through faith in Christ alone and the eternal separation from God of the finally unrepentant.

3. The belief in the Virgin Birth, Sinless Life, Atoning Death, Triumphant Resurrection, Ascension and Abiding Intercession of our Lord Jesus Christ: His Second Coming and Millennial Reign upon earth.

4. The belief in the Justification and Sanctification of the Believer through the finished work of Christ.

5. The belief in the Baptism of the Holy Ghost for believers with signs following.

ALSO READ: 7 outstanding things about the Christ Apostolic Church

6. The belief in the Nine Gifts of the Holy Ghost for the edification, exhortation, and comfort of the Church, which is the Body of Christ.

7. The belief in the Sacraments of Baptism by Immersion, and of the Lord’s Supper.

8. The belief in the Divine Inspiration and Authority of the Holy Scriptures.

9. The belief in the Church Government by Apostles, Prophets, Evangelists, Pastors, Teachers, Elders and Deacons/Deaconesses.

10. The belief in the possibility of falling from Grace.

11. The belief in the obligatory nature of Tithes and Offerings.

The above are the beliefs and doctrines that the Apostolic Church Nigeria is built upon.

How do we know they are not going to change? It’s because the Constitution of the Apostolic Church in the United Kingdom states so.

According to the Constitution, “These Tenets shall forever be the doctrinal standard of the Apostolic Church and shall not be subject to change in any way whatsoever.”

Based on this statement, it is clear that the church is not going to be changing any of these anytime soon.

The Apostolic Church Nigeria was born many years ago with the arrival of three Missionary delegates from the Apostolic Church of the United Kingdom.

These three, the late Pastors D.P. Williams (President), A. Turnbull (Vice-President), and W.J. Williams (International Prophet).came into Lagos, Nigeria on September 23, 1931.

Later that year, the Leaders of the Father Tabernacle Congregation of Nigeria agreed to join forces with The Apostolic Church of Great Britain.

This, combined with the exchange of doctrines between the missionaries and leaders, led to the adoption of the name. Thus, The Apostolic Church Nigeria was born.

Now, it is one of the biggest churches in Nigeria with over 4.5 million members and a multimillion naira National Temple with a capacity of over 10,000 worshippers.

The church is divided into five fields, Lagos and Western/Northern Areas Territory (LAWNA); Cross River State Territory; Igbo Territory; Maritime Field; and Akwa Ibom Territory.

These territories are all headed by one person, a President. This person is Apostle E.S Igwe, the chairman of Igboland territory.

He succeeded Pastor G.O. Olutola in February 2017.

Olutola took over from Pastor Eyo Okon (the first national president) in 2011.

Okon retired at the age of 80.