Quadri, Akhator win big at the Nigerian Sports Awards

November 17th 2018, 8:55:20 pm

Here is a list of winners at the 2018 edition of the Nigerian Sports Awards.

Ahmed Musa

Nigeria’s top performers in the world of sports were awarded at the Eko Hotels and Suite, Victoria Island in Lagos.

Quadri who has excelled this year and brought more recognition to table tennis was rewarded with the Sportsman of the Year award ahead of D’Tigers star Ike Diogu and Super Eagles forward Ahmed Musa.

No ad

Evelyn Akhator who led D'Tigress beat wrestler Odunayo Adekuoroye and winter Olympian Simidele Adeagbo to the Sportswoman of the Year award.

Other awards

Super Eagles stand-in captain Ahmed Musa beat teammate Kenneth Omeruo and Super Falcons forward Rasheedat Ajibade to the Footballer of the Year award.

River State Governor Nyesom Wike beat Delta State’s Ifeanyi Okowa and Akinwumi Ambode of Lagos State to the Sports Governor of the Year award.

Akhator, beat teammate, Adora Elonu and D’Tigers Ike Diogu to the Basketball award.

No ad

Francis Orbih President of Badminton Federation of Nigeria won the Administrator of the Year award ahead of Nigeria Basketball President Musa Kida and Amaju Pinnick.

2018 Commonwealth Games medal winner Odunayo Adekuoroye won the Wrestler of the Year ahead of John Emmanuel and Blessing Oburududu.

Para-Lifting Coach, Are Feyisetan won the Coach of the Year ahead of Super Eagles Coach, Gernot Rohr and DTigress Coach, Otis Hugley.

Badminton star Yemisi Olatunji won the Racket Sportsperson of the Year award ahead of, Aruna Quadri and Marylove Edwards.

World record holder and Commonwealth champion Esther Oyema won the Para (Special) Sports Person of the Year award ahead of Bose Omolayo and Paul Kehinde.

No ad

Another Commonwealth medal winner Tobiloba Amusan won the Track and Field star of the Year award ahead of Ese Brume and Joy Udoh-Gabriel.

Winter Olympian Seun Adigun won the team Sports Person of the Year award ahead of Kingsley Okubuike.

Joy Udoh-Gabriel won the Discovery of the Year Award ahead of Simisola Balogun and Lateef Oladokun Omidiji.


Our newsletter gives you access to a curated selection of the most important stories daily.

Don’t miss a thing! Get notifications for important news & events right in your browser


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: