2021 FIFA BEST Awards live: Robert Lewandowski beats Lionel Messi and Mohamed Salah to the ultimate prize

January 17th 2022, 7:13:11 pm

All the updates from the 2021 FIFA BEST Awards

FIFA Best awards

FIFA President Gianni Infantino opens the ceremony with a speech.

Canadian women's football star Christine Sinclair is the recipient of #TheBest FIFA Special Award as The Greatest Goalscorer in the World.

Chile and Paris Siant-Germain's Christiane Endler beats Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany / Chelsea FC Women) and Stephanie Lynn Marie Labbé (Canada / FC Rosengård / Paris Saint-Germain) to the award.

No ad

Senegal and Chelsea FC goalkeeper Édouard Mendy emerged winner ahead of Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy, AC Milan and Paris Saint-Germain) and Manuel Neuer (Germany and FC Bayern München)

Erik Lamela of Argentina emerged winner of the award for his striker while with Arsenal against Tottenham Hotspur FC in the Premier League.

He beat Patrik Schick's strike for Czech Republic against Scotland at Euro 2020 and Mehdi Taremi goal for FC Porto against Chelsea FC in the Champions League.

Denmark national team, medics and coaching staff beat Claudio Ranieri and Scott Brown to the award.

Chelsea Women's boss Emma Hayes beat Lluís Cortés of FC Barcelona Femeni and Sarina Wiegman of the Dutch national team and English national team to the award.

Chelsea boss Thomas Tuchel beat Pep Guardiola and Roberto Mancini to the award.

Denmark and Finland fans beat the German fans and Imogen Papworth-Heidel to the award.

No ad

Christiane Endler, Lucy Bronze, Wendy Renard, Milly Bright, Magdalena Eriksson, Estefania Banini, Carli Lloyd, Barbara Bonasea, Vivinane Miedema, Marta, and Alex Morgan.

Gianluigi Donnarumma, David Alaba, Ruben Dias, Leonardo Bonucci, Jorginho, N'Golo Kante, Kevin De Bruyne, Cristiano Ronaldo, Erling Haaland, Roberto Lewandowski, Lionel Messi.

Alexia Putellas beat Barcelona teammate Jennifer Hermoso and Chelsea's Sam Kerr to the award.

Robert Lewandowski beat Lionel Messi and Mohamed Salah to win the award.

Cristiano Ronaldo is awarded the FIFA Special Award for breaking the men's all time goal scoring record


Our newsletter gives you access to a curated selection of the most important stories daily.

Don’t miss a thing! Get notifications for important news & events right in your browser


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or: