Pulse.ng logo

John Obi Mikel, Odion Ighalo Super Eagles stars in Siasia’s Olympic Dream Team

Each country are allowed to invite three players over the age of 23 and Samson Siasia has named Mikel and Ighalo in the squad.

  • Published:
John Obi Mikel play John Obi Mikel to lead Nigeria's team to the football event of the 2016 Olympics (NFF)

Super Eagles captain, John Obi Mikel and striker Odion Ighalo have been included in Nigeria’s team provisional squad to the 2016 Olympic Games in Brazil.

Each country are allowed to invite three players over 23 for the tournament and for the Dream Team VI, coach Samson Siasia has named Mikel and Ighalo.

Odion Ighalo play Odion Ighalo is belived to be keen to play in the Olympic Games (Instagram/Odion Ighalo )


Mikel according to Siasia has expressed his desire to play in the tournament after the coach dropped him from the squad for the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing.

Watford striker, Ighalo is believed, will not turn down the opportunity as he missed the last edition in London due to Nigeria’s failure to qualify.

South Africa-based goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi is the third averaged player that has been included in the squad.

Despite his the uncertainties surrounding his participation, Manchester City forward Kelechi Iheanacho has also been included in the 35-man list.

Kelechi Iheanacho play Kelechi Iheanacho's participation is still in doubt (NFF)


Other Super Eagles players in the squad include, William Troost Ekong, Musa Muhammed, Stanley Amuzie, Kingsley Madu, Kenneth Omeruo, Godfrey Oboabona, Oghenekaro Etebo, Okechukwu Azubuike, Imoh Ezekiel, Usman Mohammed and Abdullahi Shehu, Alex Iwobi and Aminu Umar.

These players however are within the age requirement for the football events of the Olympic Games.

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) have also disclosed that the team will depart the country next week for a final training camp in the United States of America ahead of this year’s Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Samson Siasia play Samson Siasia and his team will camp in the United States before the Olympics (Twiiter/NFF)


Siasia opted for a final training camp in Atlanta, venue of Nigeria’s historic triumph 20 years ago, in order to “psychologically prepare my boys for victory in Brazil”, according to an NFF release.

Full List

Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa FC, South Africa), Yusuf Bala (Kano Pillars), Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers), Taiwo Abdulrahman (Kwara United), Ndubuisi Agu (FC Porto, Portugal), Junior Ajayi (CS Sfaxien, Tunisia), Stanley Amuzie (Olhanense FC, Portugal), Taiwo Awoniyi (Frankfurt FC, Germany), Okechukwu Azubuike (Yeni Malatyaspor, Turkey), Etor Daniel (Enyimba FC), Augustine Dimgba (Sunshine Stars), William Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway), Saturday Erimuya (Kayseri Erciyespor, Turkey), Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense FC, Portugal), Imoh Ezekiel (Anderlecht, Belgium), Saviour Godwin (Ostende, Belgium), Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England), Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England), Emiloju Julius (MFM FC), Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia), John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England), Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey), Usman Muhammed (CF Uniao, Portugal), Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium), Erhun Obanor (MFM FC), Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey), Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea FC, England), Sodiq Saliu (Seraing FC, Belgium), Abdullahi Shehu (CF Uniao, Portugal), Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium), Seth Sincere (Rhapsody FC), Ndifreke Udo (Abia Warriors), Aminu Umar (Osmalispor, Turkey), Sadiq Umar (AS Roma, Italy)

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.