Pulse.ng logo

FIFA Ballon D'Or 2014 Ronaldo beats Messi, Neuer to win 'World Footballer of the Year'

Cristiano Ronaldo crowns a successive 2014 with third FIFA Ballon D'Or award. He is now one behind Argentine star and rival Lionel Messi

  • Published: , Refreshed:
  play (UEFA)

With a staggering record of 10 goals in ten successive UEFA Champions League away games; 25 goals in five consecutive La Liga seasons, adding up to a total of 52 goals in 43 matches in a year the Portugal international helped Real Madrid to their tenth UCL win and first FIFA Club World Cup title, Ronaldo beat four time winner, Lionel Messi and Brazil 2014 World Cup winning goalkeeper, Manuel Neuer to the 2014 FIFA Ballon D’Or award; making it his third and second consecutive win.

The 29 year-old World’s most marketable sportsman was voted as the best by team captains, coaches and journalist from FIFA Member nations.

Ronaldo who was also voted the best player in the whole of Europe for the 2013/2014 season is now one Ballon D’Or award behind Lionel Messi who still holds the record for the most wins in the prestigious award.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.