Pulse.ng logo

Tatafu Polota-Nau returns for Wallabies

Australia hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau returns to the starting line-up for his side's clash against Argentina on Saturday.

  • Published: , Refreshed:

Polota-Nau will celebrate his 50th Test on the Gold Coast, making his return from an MCL injury sustained in the New South Wales' Super Rugby final win in August.

Wallabies coach Ewen McKenzie, whose side have a win, a draw and a loss in the Rugby Championship, paid tribute to Polota-Nau.

"Tatafu has been a true servant to the game of rugby in Australia for a long time and I couldn't be more pleased to see him earn his milestone 50th game for the Wallabies this week," McKenzie said.

"I've known Tatafu for a long time and he is guy who puts his body on the line each and every week for the benefit of the team.

"He gives it his all every time he takes the field and is also an outstanding team-mate off it.

"I think I speak for everyone when I congratulate Tatafu on this significant accomplishment."

Polota-Nau's inclusion to the starting line-up is one of three changes to the Australia team that beat South Africa 24-23.

Ben McCalman and Peter Betham replace injured duo Wycliff Palu (concussion) and Adam Ashley-Cooper (neck).

The return of Queensland Reds hooker James Hanson to the replacements is the only change to the bench, with Joshua Mann-Rea making way.

Australia: 15. Israel Folau, 14. Peter Betham, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 12. Matt Toomua, 11. Rob Horne, 10. Bernard Foley, 9. Nick Phipps, 8. Ben McCalman, 7. Michael Hooper (c), 6. Scott Fardy, 5. Rob Simmons, 4. Sam Carter, 3. Sekope Kepu, 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1. James Slipper.
Replacements: 16. James Hanson, 17. Pek Cowan, 18. Ben Alexander, 19. James Horwill, 20. Scott Higginbotham, 21. Matt Hodgson, 22. Nic White, 23. Kurtley Beale.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.