Pulse.ng logo

Sydney Roosters won the NRL minor premiership title

Sydney Roosters won the NRL minor premiership title after Manly Sea Eagles slipped up in the final round of matches in the regular season.

  • Published: , Refreshed:

The Roosters claimed the JJ Giltinan Shield courtesy of their 22-18 derby victory over South Sydney Rabbitohs at Allianz Stadium on Thursday and Manly's 30-16 defeat against North Queensland Cowboys at 1300Smiles Stadium on Saturday.

Trent Robinson's side will face Penrith Panthers in a qualifying final at Allianz Stadium on Saturday, with the third-placed Rabbitohs taking on the Sea Eagles in the first play-off match on Friday.

The Cowboys will play rivals Brisbane Broncos in a mouth-watering first elimination derby in Townsville on Saturday after the Broncos claimed eighth place despite losing 22-12 at Melbourne Storm on Friday.

New Zealand Warriors were unable to secure a place in the finals as they were beaten 22-6 at Penrith in the final game of the regular season on Sunday.

The Storm will face Canterbury Bulldogs in the second elimination final at AAMI Park on Sunday, a week after the Bulldogs suffered a 19-18 defeat at Gold Coast Titans.

Mitchell Pearce was the star of the show for the Roosters in a tense derby watched by a crowd of 32, 481, with the half-back having a hand in all three tries and racing 70 metres to deny Greg Inglis what appeared to be a certain try.

Daniel Tupou, Anthony Minichiello and James Maloney crossed for the home side and although the Rabbitohs rallied with three tries of their own scored by Dylan Walker, Alex Johnston and Lote Tuqiri the damage had already been done.

The Roosters are set to be without Aidan Guerra and Dylan Napa next weekend due to suspension after the duo were placed on report for a chicken wing tackle and a shoulder charge respectively on Thursday.

Kyle Feldt scored two of North Queensland's five tries as they denied Manly top spot to take some momentum into the play-offs.

Penrith's outstanding full-back Matt Moylan scored one try and set up another two as well as well as playing a part in a fourth score as his side ended the Warriors' play-off aspirations.

Cronulla Sharks' miserable campaign finished with a 26-10 defeat at West Tigers on Saturday, but Canberra Raiders ended on a high note as they beat Parramatta Eels 33-20 to make it three consecutive victories.

Newcastle Knights ended their NRL season by hammering St George Illawarra Dragons 40-10 at Hunter Stadium on Sunday.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.