Pulse.ng logo

Simon Whitlock bundled out in first round, Gary Anderson makes it through

Simon Whitlock was a shock first-round casualty at the PDC World Championship on Saturday, while Gary Anderson had no such trouble.

  • Published: , Refreshed:

Australian seventh seed Whitlock was bundled out by world number 34 Darren Webster of England 3-1 in the evening session at Alexandra Palace in London.

Webster stormed out of the blocks in the English capital, claiming finishes of 118 and 120 to win the opening set.

Whitlock - winner of the 2012 European Championship and a runner-up at both the 2008 BDO World Championship and PDC World Championship two years later - managed to level proceedings by taking out the second set.

But Webster was not to be denied a stunning victory, winning three legs without reply as Whitlock crashed out at the first hurdle, becoming the seventh seed in three days to be eliminated.

"I've been practising doubles for the last three weeks - that's what let me down in the past," Webster told Sky Sports.

"Simon wasn't at his best but I just tried to keep concentration. I was determined to go and win one for a change. I'm so happy.

"I've been trying to calm down. Watching my videos back I noticed that I was rushing the last dart, so I've been trying to sort that out. Simon's a great player but I'm so relieved to win one this year. I was nervous up there - but I've got a lot more in my locker yet."

Fourth seed Anderson was far from convincing but did enough to beat American Scott Kirchner 3-1.

Kirchner trumped Mark McGrath 4-0 in the preliminary round earlier in the night but he had no answer for Scotsman Anderson, who won the Players Championship last month.

Anderson will face Jelle Klaasen in the second round.

Terry Jenkins and Kyle Anderson were also triumphant in the evening session.

Jenkins - a nine-time major finalist - averaged 97.33 as he accounted for John Weber 3-1 to set-up a meeting with Lawrence Ryder, who edged Justin Pipe earlier in the day.

Anderson made light work of Steve Beaton, winning 3-0 to avenge his 2012 loss.

In other results, ninth seed Robert Thornton downed Andrew Gilding 3-0.

Ronnie Baxter was a 3-1 winner against Daryl Gurner, who upstaged Scott MacKenzie in an earlier preliminary clash.

Andy Smith was beaten 3-0 by the unseeded Ronny Huybrechts.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.