Several players who defined their positions in the 1990s and 2000s highlight the 2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame class announced on Saturday.

A committee of 46 voters spent nearly nine hours deliberating before selecting Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, Charles Haley, Bill Polian, Junior Seau, Will Shields, Mick Tingelhoff and Ron Wolf for enshrinement later this year into the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio.

Bettis, nicknamed "The Bus", ran for 13,662 yards during his 13-year career to rank sixth all-time in NFL history.

He had eight 1,000-yard rushing seasons and finished his career with 15,111 yards from scrimmage and 94 total touchdowns.

A six-time Pro Bowl selection, Bettis rushed for 100 yards or more 61 times during his career with the St Louis Rams and Pittsburgh Steelers.

Brown ranks sixth on the NFL's all-time receiving yards list with 14,934 yards and is inducted in his sixth year of eligibility.

The 1987 Heisman Trophy winner spent 16 years in Oakland was a nine-time Pro Bowler and played in Super Bowl XXXVII.

Haley, a fourth-round steal by the San Francisco 49ers out of James Madison University in the 1986 NFL Draft, was a six-time Pro Bowl selection at defensive end/linebacker.

He is the only player in league history to play on five Super Bowl-winning teams, two with the 49ers and three with the Dallas Cowboys.

Polian helped build five Super Bowl teams in his 32-year career, including the Buffalo Bills teams that went to four straight Super Bowls in the early 1990s.

Seau, the number five overall draft pick in 1990 out of Southern Cal, played 20 seasons at linebacker, spending 13 years with the San Diego Chargers before moving to the Miami Dolphins for three seasons, then finishing his career with four seasons in New England.

Seau was named first-team All-Pro eight times, selected to 12 Pro Bowls and was the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 1992.

He committed suicide on May 2, 2012 and his number 55 was retired by the Chargers later that year.

Shields never missed a game in his 14 seasons, all with the Kansas City Chiefs.