Pulse.ng logo

England Squad Haseeb Hameed Ben Duckett Gareth Batty

Haseeb Hameed and Ben Duckett are named in an England Test squad which also includes veteran spinner Gareth Batty for the Bangladesh tour.

  • Published:

Haseeb Hameed and Ben Duckett and are among three uncapped players to be named in an England Test squad which also includes veteran spinner Gareth Batty for the tour of Bangladesh.

Teenager Hameed and fellow opening batsman Duckett have been rewarded for impressive seasons with Lancashire and Northamptonshire respectively, while Surrey all-rounder Zafar Ansari is also in contention to make his international debut.

Hameed, 19, and Duckett, 21, will be vying to partner captain Alastair Cook at the top of the order after Alex Hales opted against making the trip due to concerns over security, with batsman James Vince dropped due to a lack of runs against Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

Ansari was poised to play a part in the Test series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates last year, only for injury to rule him out.

His Surrey team-mate Batty, who turns 39 next month, is recalled 11 years after his previous Test and his selection along with Ansari, Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid gives England four spinners for the two-Test series - which starts on October 20.

Fit-again paceman Mark Wood also returns to the Test squad along with wicketkeeper-batsman Jos Buttler, who has not played in the longest format since last October.

Buttler will captain the limited-overs side in the absence of Eoin Morgan after the skipper also opted to remain at home.

Joe Root will be rested for a three-match ODI series, which gets under way on October 7, while Test captain Cook will miss a pair of two-day warm-up games to return home for the birth of his second child.

Left-hander Duckett has also been included in the ODI squad.


England Test squad: Alastair Cook (captain), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Zafar Ansari, Jonny Bairstow, Gary Ballance, Gareth Batty, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Ben Duckett, Steven Finn, Haseeb Hameed, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

England ODI squad: Jos Buttler (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Liam Dawson, Ben Duckett, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.