Eddie Jones has made two changes to his starting XV for England's second Test against Australia, with George Ford and Jack Nowell in the line-up.

Ford shone after replacing Luther Burrell – who drops out of the squad altogether – during the 39-28 victory over Australia in Brisbane last weekend, setting up tries for Marland Yarde and Nowell.

The Bath fly-half, 23, has been handed the number 10 shirt, with Owen Farrell subsequently moving to inside centre.

Nowell's selection on the wing comes at Yarde's expense, while the forward pack remains unchanged with Chris Robshaw set for his 50th cap.

The victory in Brisbane was just England's fourth Test win in Australia and a repeat in Melbourne on Saturday would clinch the three-match series.

Head coach Jones knows further improvement is needed to do so, but is excited by Ford and Farrell operating in the same line-up.

"We've picked a 23 to get the job done in Melbourne. Throughout the week the players have shown they're desperate to wear the red rose which meant some close calls on selection," said Jones.

"It's a 23 that suits the way we want to play at AAMI Park. George and Owen playing together gives us two great kicking options and Jack is a high work-rate player.

"As soon as we came off the field in Brisbane our thoughts turned to Melbourne and I'm pleased with how we've prepared as the week has progressed.

"The players have recognised the importance of going up another level and have trained with a real intensity and purpose.

"We weren't satisfied with last weekend's performance and we know there's lots to improve on, particularly aspects of our defence and breakdown work, which we're confident we've remedied.

"We know the job isn't done. We came here to win a Test series and that's what we intend to do. Australia will try and throw everything at us on Saturday and we'll be ready for the challenge."

England: Mike Brown, Anthony Watson, Jonathan Joseph, Owen Farrell, Jack Nowell, George Ford, Ben Youngs; Mako Vunipola, Dylan Hartley, Dan Cole, Maro Itoje, George Kruis, Chris Robshaw, James Haskell, Billy Vunipola.

Replacements: Jamie George, Matt Mullan, Paul Hill, Joe Launchbury, Courtney Lawes, Jack Clifford, Danny Care, Elliot Daly.