Pulse.ng logo

Blessing Okagbare Ace sprinter leads Nigeria’s 23-man team to World Championship

The Athletics Federation of Nigeria have selected a 23-man team to represent Nigeria in China

  • Published:
  play Blessing Okagbare is one of Nigeria's medal hopefuls (Pulse)
  play American Olympic gold medalist Maurice Greene is one of the coaches of team Nigeria (Making of Champions)

Nigerian queen of the tracks Blessing Okagbare is leading the Nigeria's 23-man list to the IAAF World Championship.

The Championship will be taking off on Saturday, August 22 in Beijing, China.

Olympic and World Championships medalist, Okagbare has been listed to feature in 100m, 200m and the 4x100m relay events.

She is however not listed for the long jump event which she won a bronze medal at for Nigeria at the 2008 Olympics at this venue in Beijing where the championship will be taking place.

Gloria Asumnu, Stephanie Kalu, Deborah Odeyemi, Cecilia Francis and Ngozi Onwumere were listed in the 100m singles and relay.

Patience Okon, Regina George, Tosin Adeloye, Margaret Etim, Funke Oladoye and Ruth Ossai will represent Nigeria in the 400m and 4x400m events.

18 women in general are on the list which also includes Amaka Ogoegbunam (400m Hurdles), Lindsay Weyimi Lindsey (100m Hurdles), Chinwe Okoro (Discus) and Uhunoma Naomi Osazuwa (Hepthatlon).

The list which was signed by the Technical Director of the Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN), Navy Commodore Omatseye Nesiama also has Ese Brumeh in the long jump category, Doreen Amata in high jump.

The five male athletes listed are Ogho-Oghene Egwero (100m), Peter Tega Odele (200m), Tyron Atkins (110m Hurdles), Miles Ukaoma (400m Hurdles) and Tosin Oke (triple jump).

The Team Nigeria coaches include former American Olympic sprint gold medalist, Maurice Greene, Gabriel Okon, Yusuf Alli and  Solomon Aliyu.

Okagbare has set his eyes on new records in the championship.

  play Blessing Okagbare has set her sights on new records at the championship (Nike.com)


She holds the Women's 100 metres Commonwealth Games record for the fastest time at 10.85 seconds and also holds the African record holder with 10.79.

In an interview with Nike.com for #AfricaSoFast campaign the Delta State born printer has set her sights firmly breaking a new record.

"I’d like to break 10.7 seconds for the 100 and 22.8 seconds for the 200, and I want to jump further than 7.3 meters in the long jump," the Olympic and World Championships medalist said.

Full List

Women’s 100/200/4x100m

Blessing Okagbare, Gloria Asumnu, Stephanie Kalu, Deborah Odeyemi, Cecilia Francis, Ngozi Onwumere.


Patience Okon, Regina George, Oluwatosin Adeloye, Etim Margaret, Funke Oladoye, Rita Ossai, High Jump, Doreen Amata.

100m Hurdles

Lindsay Weyimi Lindley

400m Hurdles

Amaka Ogoegbunam

Long Jump

Ese Brume


Chinwe Okoro


Uhunoma Naomi Osazuwa

Male Athletes


Ogho-Oghene Egwero


Odele Tega Peter

110m Hurdles

Tyron Akins

400m Hurdles

Miles Ukaoma

Triple Jump

Tosin Oke

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.