Pulse.ng logo

Bledisloe Cup Experienced Wallabies return for All Blacks clash

Matt Giteau, Will Genia, Adam Ashley-Cooper and Kane Douglas will start for Australia against New Zealand in the Rugby Championship.

  • Published:

Australia will welcome back a quartet of experienced players, including Matt Giteau and Will Genia, for the Bledisloe Cup and Rugby Championship opener against New Zealand.

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has named Giteau, Genia, Adam Ashley-Cooper and Kane Douglas in his starting side for Saturday's encounter in Sydney.

The quartet sat out June's 3-0 series loss to England, and provide the Wallabies with a boost heading into the clash at ANZ Stadium.

Brumbies prop Allan Alaalatoa could make his Australia debut after being named on the bench.

A new-look back row sees Ben McCalman join Michael Hooper and David Pocock, with the Wallabies looking to win the Bledisloe Cup for the first time since 2002.


Australia XV in full: Israel Folau, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Tevita Kuridrani, Matt Giteau, Dane Haylett-Petty, Bernard Foley, Will Genia, David Pocock, Michael Hooper, Ben McCalman, Rob Simmons, Kane Douglas, Sekope Kepu, Stephen Moore (captain), Scott Sio.

Replacements: Tatafu Polota-Nau, James Slipper, Allan Alaalatoa, Dean Mumm, Scott Fardy, Nick Phipps, Matt Toomua, Rob Horne.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.