Villarreal star Samuel Chukwueze is missing from the Flying Eagles of Nigeria squad for the 2019 FIFA U20 World Cup which was released on Monday, May 13. 

With Nigeria getting ready to compete at their 13th FIFA U20 World Cup tournament, Flying Eagles boss Paul Aigbogun released a 21-man squad for the tournament in Poland. 

The biggest takeaway from the list is the absence of Chukwueze who was wanted by Aigbogun to play in the tournament. 

Playing at the FIFA U20 World Cup would have meant that the forward would not be available for Super Eagles at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Egypt. 

His exclusion from the Flying Eagles squad means the 19-year-old is expected to be in the Super Eagles squad for AFCON 2019.

Enyimba defender and captain of Nigeria’s U20 side Ikouwem Utin, goalkeeper Olawale Oremade, midfielder Kingsley Michael and forward Henry Offia are some of the expected names on the list. 

There is also a place for Enyimba defender Valentine Ozornwafor who was named in the Team of the Tournament at the U20 AFCON finals in the Niger Republic in February. 

Complete Sports
Valentine Ozornwafor has been included in the squad after impressing at the U20 Africa Cup of Nations in February (Complete Sports)

Nigeria will kick off their 2019 FIFA U20 campaign with a game against Qatar on Friday, May 24 before further Group D games against Ukraine and United States. 

The Flying Eagles, seven-time African champions have never won the FIFA U20 World Cup title, going close with second-place finish twice- in 1989 and 2005- and also finished third once in 1985. 

Full squad 

Goalkeepers: Detan Ogundare (Kogi United); Olawale Oremade (Kwara United; Jonathan Zaccala (Triestina FC, Italy) 

Defenders: Valentine Ozornwafor (Enyimba FC); Aliu Salawudeen (Amuneke Academy); Igoh Ogbu (Rosenborg BK, Norway); Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba FC); Muhammad Rabiu (Plateau United); Jamil Muhammad (Kano Pillars) 

Midfielders: Nnamdi Ofoborh (AFC Bournemouth, England); Eletu Peter (Prince Kazeem FC); Ayotomiwa Dele-Bashiru (Manchester City, England); Kingsley Michael (AC Perugia, Italy); Effiom Maxwell (Enyimba FC); Aniekeme Okon (Akwa United); Collins Sor (Oasis FC) 

Forwards: Jerome Adams (Sogndal IL, Norway); Tijani Muhammed (FC Banik Ostrava, Czech Republic); Henry Offia (IK Sirius Uppsala, Sweden); Chinonso Emeka (Club Brookhouse, England); Success Makanjuola (Water FC)