Europe football governing body, UEFA announced the nominees on Monday, August 20 where the three players were announced as the final players to contest for the award.

Cristiano Ronaldo

The award ceremony will hold during the UEFA Champions League draw on Thursday, August 30

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the last two editions of the award, but this year his major rival Barcelona did not make the final shortlist.

Mohamed Salah

Players who made the top ten but missed out of the final three are Antoine Griezmann, Messi, Kylian Mbappé, Kevin De Bruyne, Raphaël Varane, Eden Hazard, Sergio Ramos.

[No available link text]

Modric had a superb season with Real Madrid where he lifted the Champions League and led Croatia to the final of the 2018 FIFA World Cup where they lost to France.

Ronaldo triumphed in the Champions League with Modric but has since moved to Serie A giants .

While Salah had a record breaking season with Premier League side Liverpool which went on to the Champions League final only to lose to Real Madrid.

Other awards

Several other awards will also take place at the ceremony for the different positions, and also for the Women's catergory.

Liverpool new shotstopper will compete with Gianluigi Buffon and Keylor Navas for the Goalkeeper of the Season award.

Three Real Madrid stars Sergio Ramos, Marcelo and Raphaël Varane will battle for the Defender of the Season award.

Modric will contest the Midfielder of the Season award with Kevin De Bruyne and teammate Toni Kroos.

Even though Messi did not make the final shortlist he will contest the Forward of the Season award with nominees Ronaldo and Salah.

Luka Modric stats

Pernille Harder, Amandine Henry and Ada Hegerberg  are the nominees for the Women's Player of the Year award.

The Europa League Player of the Season award nominees are Antoine Griezmann, Dimitri Payet and Diego Godín.

Ronaldo, Salah and Modric are also among the nominees for the 2018 FIFA Best Men's Player of the Year.