Uruguay wins 15th Copa America title

We remember the 2011 Copa America final which Uruguay won after thrashing Paraguay 3-0


As we are getting prepared for the 2015 Copa America final between host Chile and Argentina, we throwback to the 2011 edition of the South American tournament which Uruguay won.

In the competition hosted by Argentina, Uruguay played Paraguay in the final which was played on July 24 2011.

Uruguay won the tournament after defeating Paraguay 3–0 in the final, giving them a record 15th Copa América title and their first since 1995.

Luis Suarez (11th minute) and a Diego Forlan brace (Goal 41th and 89th minute) was all Uruguay need to defeat Gerardo Martino's led side.

Coincidentally, Martino is the coach of this Argentina team that will play Chile in the final.

Another Copa America final loss for the coach or is he going to lay his hands on the trophy?


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng

Recommended articles

Iran, Iraq and UAE, Saudi  march into final phase of World Cup qualifying

Ronaldo breaks Euro goalscoring record as Portugal beat Hungary

France beat Germany as Ronaldo makes history in Portugal victory at Euro 2020

Hummels own goal gets France off to winning start at Euro 2020

Kroos rues 'unfortunate goal' in Germany defeat by France

Platini to return to football as FIFPRO member

Spain's Morata extends Juve loan for another season

Iran, Iraq and UAE march into final phase of World Cup qualifying

Shaqiri praises Mancini for building Italy team with no stars