Pulse.ng logo

Oshoala leads Super Falcons 21-woman squad for 2018 AWCON

Here are the 21 Super Falcons selected by Thomas Dennerby for the 2018 AWCON in Ghana.

  • Published:
Super Falcons play The Super Falcons squad for the 2018 AWCON has been announced (CAF)

African Women's Player of the Year Asisat Oshoala leads the 21 Super Falcon players selected to represent Nigeria at the announced 2018 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON).

Head Coach Thomas Dennerby took 23 players to Abidjan and has finally dropped two players as he submitted his list for the tournament.

The players dropped are Ogonna Chukwudi of Krstianstand DFF, Sweden and Ugochi Emenayo Nasarawa Amazons.

Super Falcons play Thomas Dennerby has selected the 21 players that will represent Nigeria at the 2018 AWCON (NFF)

Asisat Oshoala

Asisat comes to the Super Falcons after winning the Chinese Women's Super League with her team Dalian Quanjian for the second time.

The 24-year-old has been a key part of the Super Falcons after representing the Nigerian U-20 Women's team Falconets achieve a Silver medal at the 2012 FIFA U-20 World Cup.

Dalian Quanjian play Asisat Oshoala won the Chinese title before joining up with the Super Falcons (Dalian Quanjian)


This is her third AWCON tournament and she has been victorious in the last two editions he participated.

She is expected to lead the Super Falcons attack along side strike partner Desire Oparanozie as the Super Falcons aim for another African title.

2018 AWCON

The Super Falcons are drawn along with South Africa, Kenya, and Zambia in group B of the 2018 AWCON.

While hosts Ghana will face Algeria, Mali and Cameroon in Group A of the competition.

2018 AWCON draw play The Super Falcons are in group B of the 2018 AWCON (CAF)

According to the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) the Super Falcons are camped at the ASEC Mimosas FC academy, Sol Beni.

The team is expected to depart for the host country on Wednesday, November 14 after concluding preparations.

Bayana Bayana of South Africa play The Super Falcons begin their campaign for the 2018 AWCON against South Africa (SAFA)

The 2018 AWCON tournament kicks off from Saturday, September 17 till Saturday, December 11 across Ghanaian cities Accra and Cape Coast.

2018 AWCON play The Super Falcons will play three group games to progress to the semifinal (CAF)

Thomas Dennerby's side will play three group games with the top two in each group progressing to the semifinal of the competition, while only three teams will qualify for the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup.

The Super Falcons of Nigeria are the defending champions and begin their campaign against the Bayana Bayana of South Africa on Sunday, November 18.

The Super Falcons of Nigeria defeated their Gambian counterparts 6-0 on Monday, June 11 to qualify for the 2018 African Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON). play The Super Falcons are the defending champions of the AWCON (Twitter/Super Falcons )

21 Super Falcons

Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels)

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels); Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Ebere (Barcelona FC, Cyprus); Faith Michael (Pitea IF, Sweden); Onome Ebi (Henan Huisanhang, China); Osinachi Ohale (Vaxjo DFF, Sweden); Josephine Chukwunonye (Asarum AIF, Sweden)

Super Falcons play Thomas Dennerby dropped two players from the team that travelled to Abidjan (CAF)


Midfielders: Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Okobi (Eskiltuna UTD, Sweden); Rita Chikwelu (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden); Halimat Ayinde (Asarum AIF, Sweden); Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazons).

Forwards: Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo Queens); Asisat Oshoala (Dalian Quanjian, China); Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France); Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal); Chinwendu Ihezuo (Biik Kazygurt, Kazakhstan) 

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.