Pulse.ng logo

Super Eagles Iwobi, Omeruo return as Gernot Rohr names 23 players to face Zambia

The Super Eagles of Nigeria travel to face Zambia on Sunday, October 9 for the match-day one of the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

  • Published:
Alex Iwobi play Alex Iwobi is back to the Super Eagles squad (Instagram)

Nigeria internationals Alex Iwobi and Kenneth Omeruo are back in the Super Eagles as Technical Adviser Gernot Rohr named them alongside 21 others to battle Zambia.

Alex Iwobi play Alex Iwobi has been in fine form for Arsenal since returning from injury (BPI / Greig Cowie)

ALSO READ: Alex Iwobi is back for the Super Eagles

The Super Eagles of Nigeria travel to face Zambia on Sunday, October 9 for the match-day one of the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

For the game, the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on Thursday, September 22 announced the list released by Rohr, the Technical Adviser of the Super Eagles.

Gernot Rohr play Gernot Rohr has named his Super Eagles squad for Zambia clash (NAN)


Rohr retains the squad that executed the dead rubber 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Tanzania which they won 1-0.

Missing from the squad which played against Tanzania are Odion Ighalo- who will be attending the funeral of his late father on the eve of the game- and KAA Gent of Belgium striker Moses Simon who has an injury.

Odion Ighalo play Odion Ighalo will be unavailable because of the funeral of his father (AFP/File)


Watford forward, Isaac Success and Belgium –based midfielder Anderson Esiti are also among the new names in the squad.

Iwobi and Omeruo were missing from Super Eagles last game but have since recovered to feature for their respective clubs.

Kenneth Omeruo play Kenneth Omeruo is back from injury (Getty Images )


All invited players are expected to start arriving in Abuja as from Sunday, October 2.

Full Squad

Goalkeepers: Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England); Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah)

Defenders: Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); William Paul Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway); Kenneth Omeruo (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Jamiu Alimi (Kano Pillars); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey); Elderson Echiejile (Standard Liege, Belgium), Kingsley Madu (SV Zulte Waregem, Belgium)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Nosa Igiebor (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel); Anderson Esiti (KAA Gent, Belgium)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Brown Ideye (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England)

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.