Super Eagles boss Gernot Rohr recalls Kelechi Iheanacho and calls up a new goalkeeper for the friendly against Ukraine

Gernot Rohr calls up 23 players for Nigeria Vs Ukraine friendly.

A Super Eagles squad for September friendly against Ukraine has been announced (EPA)

Super Eagles boss Gernot Rohr has recalled Kelechi Iheanacho and called up a new goalkeeper for Nigeria’s friendly game against Ukraine in September. 

The Super Eagles will face Ukraine in a friendly on Tuesday, September 10 in Dnipro.

Ahead of the game, the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on Tuesday, August 14 unveiled Rohr’s 23-man list for the friendly game which included Iheanacho. 

It’s a return to the Super Eagles for the Leicester City forward who was dropped from the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) squad following an underwhelming season. 

There was also a first-time call-up for Germany-born goalkeeper Maduka Okoye while there is no place for South-African based goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi who gets the chop after he failed to impress as the first-choice goalkeeper at AFCON 2019. 

Rangers and English-born midfielder Joe Aribo has also been given a debut call-up in the absence of John Ogu who is still without a club. 

Rohr also recalled Benfica defender Tyronne Ebuehi after recovering from a long-term injury. 

Aside from the recalls and debutants, the squad is dominated by regulars including Alex Iwobi, Ahmed Musa, Samuel Chukwueze, Wilfred Ndidi, etc. 

Only five players in AFCON 2019 squad are missing from Rohr’s 23-man team for the friendly against Ukraine.

Other AFCON 2019 players missing are Shehu Abdullahi who has also been dropped while Mikel Obi and Odion Ighalo have retired from national team duties.

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Emil Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Benfica, Portugal); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (Rotherham United, England)

Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Joe Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (AS Monaco, France); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:


Recommended articles

France face Germany as Ronaldo makes history in Portugal victory at Euro 2020

Ronaldo breaks Euro goalscoring record as Portugal beat Hungary

Donnarumma move to PSG would be 'good choice' says Mancini

Clubless Kamara takes Sierra Leone back to Africa Cup of Nations

Hungary, Portugal fans 'thrilled' to be back in packed stadium

Bale hopes 'hostile' Baku crowd can fire up Wales

Yilmaz urges 'broken' Turkey to bounce back against Wales

Mings adamant England won't bow to Patel's kneeling pressure

Liverpool given go-ahead to expand Anfield stadium