Lobi Stars to be declared title winners as the league gets a bizarre ending with no club going for relegation

These decisions were made to meet up with a deadline of October 15 for confirmation of reps for CAF competitions.

The 2018 NPFL season went on break after Matchday 24 and has not resumed since then following the leadership crisis that engulfed the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).


Normalcy has since been restored to the NFF and at a meeting of the League Management Company (LMC) and NFF Football Committee on Thursday, August 30, a decision was made to end the 2018 NPFL season and crown leaders Lobi Stars as champions.

Lobi Stars lead the table after Matchday 24 with 43 points.

The decisions made at the meeting have not been ratified by the NFF.

"Good Morning Football fans. Nigeria awaits the decision of @LMCNPFL regarding #NPFL18 season. #NPFL18ChampionsInWaiting #WeAreLobi," Lobi Stars said on their Twitter account on Friday.

Also, there will be no relegated teams this season while two clubs will be promoted from the Nigeria National League (NNL).

Subsequently, 24 teams will compete in the NPFL next season in a two group-format of 12 clubs each while six clubs will be relegated. The 2018/19 season is billed to kick off in November.

16 clubs from the 20 NPFL teams voted for the league to end the league, four voted for it to continue.

These decisions were made to meet up with CAF’s deadline of October 15 for Nigeria to submit names of their representatives for CAF Competitions for next season.

The NFF had used their contacts at CAF to get a five-day extension for Nigeria hence Lobi Stars will represent Nigeria in the CAF Champions League while winners of the Aiteo Cup will play in the CAF Confederation Cup.

The Aiteo Cup will kickoff on Wednesday, September 5 with the rookies stage and the round of 16 will be in group format.


More from category

Recommended articles