The award ceremony is set to reward excellence in Nigerian football, and will hold on Monday, February 19.

Chairman of organising the ceremony, Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi, stated that the award will hold annually and will have in attendance notable home-based and foreign diginitries.

In a statement on the NFF website he said “We decided it was the right time to launch a project to recognize and reward excellence in Nigerian Football. Fortunately, we found a worthy partner in Lagos State, the Centre of Excellence, and with a Chief Executive (Governor Akinwunmi Ambode) who is a lover of excellence.

“The NFF Awards will be an annual event. The inaugural edition will hold at the Eko Hotel and Suites on Monday, 19th February 2018, and will be graced by FIFA President Gianni Infantino, CAF President Ahmad and at least 20 FA Presidents who will be here for the FIFA Executive Football Summit also taking place in Lagos the following day.

“We have an opportunity to showcase Lagos State not only around the Awards, but also at the FIFA EFS meeting for which the State is also partnering the NFF.”

The organising chairman assured of fairness and transparency in selecting the awards.

He specifically pointed out that Some awards will be decided by the committee, and some by online voters

The awards would be on Nigerian television from 7pm in the evening.

Awards to be given.

. Player of the Year (Men)

. Player of the Year (Women)

. Coach of the Year (Men)

. Coach of the Year (Women)

. Young Player of the Year (Men)

. Young Player of the Year (Women)

. Team of the Season

. Fair play Award

. Goal of the Year

. Fans of the Year

. NFF Development Award

. Order of Merit Award

. Presidential Award

. Legends Eleven

. Achievement Award (1973 All-Africa Games Football Tournament – winning Green Eagles)