Pulse.ng logo

Super Eagles Mikel, Victor Moses, Ighalo return for Cameroon

Nigeria host Cameroon in Uyo on Friday, September 1 with the return leg in Yaoundé on Monday, September 4.

  • Published: , Refreshed:
Kelechi Iheanacho, Victor Moses and John Mikel Obi play Super Eagles captain Mikel Obi and Victor Moses are back in the squad for Cameroon games (Nigeria's midfielder Victor Moses (C) celebrates with teammates after scoring a goal during the 2018 FIFA World Cup African zone group B qualifying football match between Nigeria and Algeria at the Akwa Ibom State Stadium in Uyo on November 12, 2016.)

Super Eagles boss Gernot Rohr has released a 23-man list- for the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifiers against Cameroon -including Captain John Mikel Obi and Victor Moses who return to the team for the first time in 2017.

Nigeria host Cameroon in Uyo on Friday, September 1 with the return leg in Yaoundé on Monday, September 4.

For the double header, Rohr has called up Mikel Obi and Moses who have not played for the Super Eagles since the 3-1 win over Algeria in November 2016.

John Mikel Obi play Mikel is back in the Super Eagles for the first time since November 2016 (AFP/Getty Images)

ALSO READ: Mikel returns from four-month injury lay-off

Mikel was left out of the Super Eagles friendly in March 2017 so he could settle in at his new club in China while injury ruled him out from the friendly games against Corsica and Togo in May/June and the crucial 2017 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier against South Africa which Nigeria lost at home 2-0.

Moses pulled out of the Super Eagles team to face Senegal in March because of an injury and missed out on the 2-0 loss to South Africa after undergoing surgery.

Victor Moses and Nabil Bentaleb (R) play Victor Moses (left) scored a brace the last time he played for the Super Eagles (PIUS UTOMI EKPEI/AFP/Getty Images)

ALSO READ: Cameroon captain confident of beating Nigeria

There is also a return for Odion Ighalo whose last call-up was against Algeria in November 2016.

Israel –based striker Anthony Nwakaeme who has been invited following his fine form for Hapoel Be’er Sheva is in the Super Eagles team for the first time.

Ola Aina who has captained England at Under 19 level has also been invited. The Chelsea player on loan at Hull City trained with the Super Eagles in March.

Odion Ighalo play Odion Ighalo has also been called up following his fine form for Changchun Yatai F.C. in China (Twitter/NFF)


With Super Eagles first choice goalkeeper Carl Ikeme out, Rohr has stuck with the trio of Daniel Akpeyi, Ikechukwu Ezenwa and Dele Alampasu.

Regulars like Ahmed Musa, Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi, Wilfred NdidiElderson Echiejile and Abdullahi Shehu have also been invited.

Seven other players have been placed on standby in case there are any issues with the invited stars.

Ola Aina and his dad play Ola Aina pictured with his dad at Super Eagles training base in London in March 2017 (Twitter)

The Super Eagles are top of Africa’s 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifying Group B with six points, after wins over Zambia and Algeria in their first two matches.

The Indomitable Lions of Cameroon, African champions are second with only two points; Zambia and Algeria are bottom with just a point.

Super Eagles Squad for Cameroon

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Dele Alampasu (Cesarense FC, Portugal)

Defenders: William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Elderson Echiejile (Sivasspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); Ola Aina (Hull City, England)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Chang Chun-Yatai, China); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Anthony Nwakaeme (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Standby: Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium); Henry Onyekuru (Anderlecht FC, Belgium); Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea FC, England); Aaron Samuel (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United); Stephen Eze (FC IfeanyiUbah); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Akwa United)

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.