Pulse.ng logo

FIFA Puskas Award 2016 Messi, Neymar nominated

Lionel Messi and Neymar lead the nomination for the FIFA Puskas Award 2016.

  • Published:

The FIFA Puskas Award is an award for the best goal scored by a player in the calendar year.

Barcelona stars Lionel Messi and Neymar have been nominated for the 2016 FIFA Puskas award.

The FIFA Puskas Award is an award for the best goal scored by a player in the calendar year.

Brazilian forward Wendell Lira won the award last year after his goal for Goianesia against Atletico Goianiense in a regional cup game secured 46.7 per cent of the vote.

Messi makes the list for his goal for Argentina against the USA in the 2016 Copa America.

Lionel Messi play Lionel Messi makes the list for one of his goals in 2016 Copa America ( Getty Images)


The Argentina captain magnificently curled the ball from 25-yards past US goalkeeper Brad Guzan.

His Barcelona teammate Neymar has been nominated for his goal for the La Liga giants against Villarreal CF in November 2015.

Neymar play Neymar (Youtube/FIFATV)


The forward finished off a sublime counter-attacking move from one penalty box to the other.

Receiving a pass from a Luis Suarez perfect cross, the Brazilian perfectly lifted the ball above Jaume Costa to volley into the net past Alphonse Areola.

Wales international, Hal Robson-Kanu also makes the list with his goal in their 3-1 win over Portugal in the quarter-final of Euro 2016.

Hal Robson-Kanu play Hal Robson-Kanu has been nominated for the FIFA Puskas Award 2016 (Omnisports )


Full List

Mario Gaspar (ESP) - 13.11.2015, Spain v. England, international friendly

Hlompho Kekana (RSA) - 26.03.2016, Cameroon v. South Africa, Africa Cup of Nations qualifier

Marlone (BRA) - 21.04.2016, Corinthians v. Cobresal, Copa Libertadores

Lionel Messi (ARG) - 21.06.2016, USA v. Argentina, Copa América Centenario semi-final

Neymar (BRA) - 08.11.2015, Barcelona v. Villarreal, La Liga (Spain)

Saúl Ñíguez (ESP) - 27.04.2016, Atlético Madrid v. Bayern Munich, UEFA Champions League​

Hal Robson-Kanu (WAL) - 01.07.2016, Wales v. Belgium, UEFA EURO 2016

Daniuska Rodríguez (VEN) - 14.03.2016, Venezuela v. Colombia, South American U-17 Women’s Football Championship

Simon Skrabb (FIN) - 31.10.2015, Gefle v. Åtvidaberg, Allsvenskan league, Sweden

Mohd Faiz Subri (MAS) - 16.02.2016, Penang v. Pahang, Malaysia Super League​

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.