Pulse.ng logo

CAF African Player of the Year Mikel, Musa, Iheanacho shortlisted

The winner of the award will be announced on Thursday, January 5, 2017, at the Glo-CAF Awards night in Abuja.

  • Published: , Refreshed:
John Mikel Obi play John Obi Mikel (NFF)

Join the "sabi" clique. Don't miss a thing, get the latest updates to fuel your conversation daily

By signing up , you agree to our Privacy Policy and European users agree to the data transfer policy

Thank You! You have successfully subscribed to receive pulse.ng daily newsletter.

Super Eagles stars, John Mikel Obi, Ahmed Musa and Kelechi Iheanacho have been shortlisted for the 2016 African Footballer of the Year Award.

The Nigeria internationals make a long list of players that have been nominated for awards which will be announced on Thursday, January 5, 2017, at the Glo-CAF Awards night in Abuja.

Kelechi Iheanacho play Kelechi Iheanacho (Twitter/NFF)


In the year under review, Mikel lead Nigeria's Dream Team VI to bronze in the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, while Musa won the Russian Premier League title with CSKA Moscow.

play Ahmed Musa


Iheanacho missed out on the Premier League title with Manchester City but won the League Cup in his first year at in the senior after he gained promotion from the youth side in the summer of 2015.

Holder, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang will be among the frontrunners for the awards, but four-time winner Yaya Toure has not been shortlisted.

Andre Ayew, Pierre-Emerick and Yaya Toure play Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (middle) win the 2015 edition of the awards. (Omnisports )


Borussia Dortmund striker Aubameyang won the accolade in 2015 after a scorching start to the previous season for the Bundesliga club.

The Gabon international beat the likes of Andre Ayew of Ghana and Ivory Coast's Toure to win the award.

Four-time winner of the award Samuel Eto'o has been included alongside Serge Aurier, Gervinho, Mehdi Benatia and Kalidou Koulibaly.

Algeria's Riyad Mahrez who is also favourite has been included alongside his compatriot, Islam Slimani.

Riyad Mahrez play Riyad Mahrez is also favourite for the awards after winning the Premier League and also the PFA Player of the year in England (PA)


Eric Bailly, Mohamed Elneny, Victor Wanyama, Yannick Bolasie, Sadio Mane and Wahbi Khazri are the other stars shortlisted.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.