Team Nigeria won six medals on the closing day of the

Glory Nathaniel won the first gold medal for Nigeria on Sunday, August 5 beating defending champion Wenda Nel in the final of the women’s 400m Hurdles.

She ran a time of 4x400m to win the final.

Rita Ossai and Abasiono Akpan who also ran in the final could only manage a 6th and 7th finish respectively.

In High Jump, Grace Anigbata got another gold medal for Nigeria with a leap of  14.02m a Personal Best (PB).

Nigerian sprinter Divine Oduduru lived up to his pre-competition billing by winning silver in the 200m.

Oduduru ran a time of 20.60s to finish second in the finals. He posted the same time with Loxolo Adams but the South African runner had to settle for bronze.

Samuel Kute won bronze for Team Nigeria with a PB throw of 75.69m in the men’s Javelin final.

Nigeria’s women’s 4x400m team had one of the highlights of the day as they snatched gold in the relay’s final.

The quartet of Patience Okon-George, Abike Egbeniyi, Folashade Abugan and Yinka Ajayi won the final with a time of  3:31.14.

The quartet of Orukpe Eraiyokan, Rilwan Alowonle, Isah Salihu and Chidi Okezie teamed up in the men’s 4x400m relay to win bronze.

Team Nigeria finished third in the final with a time of 3:04.33.

Fadekemi Olude, Nigeria’s National Record (NR) holder in women’s 20km race walk could only finish fourth with a time of 1:41:16 while the duo of Gbenga Fatoyinbo and Lawal Oluwaseyi placed 11th and 12th respectively in the final of the men’s category.

Team Nigeria in total won nine gold, five silver and five bronze medals to finish third on the medals’ table of the championships.