Pulse.ng logo
Go

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Wednesday, May 20

  • Published:

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Wednesday:

- - - -

SOCCER

FIFA election package

LONDON - Reuters 14-part package previewing the May 29 FIFA presidential election will comprise profiles and factboxes of all four candidates -- incumbent Sepp Blatter, Prince Ali Bin Al Hussein of Jordan, Michael van Praag of the Netherlands and Luis Figo of Portugal. It will also include a preview of the election, a history of FIFA presidential elections back to FIFA's founding in 1904, factboxes on soccer's world governing body and how the election works plus betting odds. (SOCCER-FIFA/ (PIX), expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET, by Mike Collett and Brian Homewood)

- -

Italian Cup

Juventus v Lazio, Olympic Stadium, Rome (1845)

Juve meet Lazio in Cup final as they bid for double

ROME - Juventus hope to complete the second leg of a league, cup and Champions League treble when they face Lazio in the Coppa Italia final in Rome. (SOCCER-ITALY/COPPA, (PIX), expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Premier League

Arsenal v Sunderland (1845)

Lots at stake as Arsenal host lowly Sunderland

LONDON - Arsenal can seal third place and a spot in the Champions League group stage with a win over a struggling Sunderland side who need a point to guarantee their Premier League survival with one match remaining. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), expect by 2045 GMT/4:45 PM ET, 400 words)

- -

Asian Champions League, round of 16, first leg

FC Seoul host Gamba Osaka, Guangzhou visit Seongnam

SEOUL - South Korean sides FC Seoul and Seongnam play host to Japan's Gamba Osaka and Guangzhou Evergrande of China in the first legs of their AFC Champions League last 16 matchups. (SOCCER-ASIAN/CHAMPIONS-EAST expect by 1400 GMT/10 AM ET, by Peter Rutherford, 400 words)

- -

Ghent "Buffalos" on verge of first Belgian title

BRUSSELS - KAA Ghent are a victory away from winning their first Belgian championship and in doing so will break the 17-year stranglehold of the league's traditional top four. (SOCCER-BELGIUM/GHENT, moved, by Philip Blenkinsop, 400 words)

- -

Libertadores Cup quarter-finals, first leg

Copy on merit

- - - -

MOTOR RACING

Monaco Formula One Grand Prix preview

Hamilton aims to deny Rosberg Monaco milestone

MONACO - Lewis Hamilton, having agreed a new three-year contract with Mercedes on Wednesday, hopes to make it third time lucky in Monaco this weekend and take revenge on Nico Rosberg by denying his team mate a hat-trick of wins in Formula One's most glamorous race. (MOTOR RACING-PRIX/PREVIEW, pix, moved, by Alan Baldwin, 400 words)

Also moved - a drivers' form sheet and statistics for the sixth race of the season.

- - - -

RUGBY

Ashton, Strettle back in England World Cup frame

LONDON - Winger Chris Ashton has been given the chance to resurrect his stalled England career after being named in Stuart Lancaster's bulging 50-man rugby World Cup training squad (RUGBY UNION-WORLD/ENGLAND (UPDATE 1), moved, by Mitch Phillips, 400 words)

- - - -

GOLF

European Tour: BMW PGA Championship (to 24)

Injury could force Harrington out for first time

VIRGINIA WATER, England - Padraig Harrington may be forced to pull out of a tournament through injury for the first time in his 20-year professional career after sustaining a problem to his left shoulder while working out in the gym. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, moved, by Tony Jimenez, 400 words)

- -

PGA Tour: Crowne Plaza International (to 24)

Spieth back in PGA Tour action at Colonial

Masters champion and local favourite Jordan Spieth, the world number two, returns to PGA Tour action for this week's Crowne Plaza Invitational in Fort Worth, Texas after surprisingly missing the cut at the Players Championship earlier this month. We preview the prestigious event at Colonial Country Club which was won five times by golfing great and Fort Worth resident Ben Hogan. (GOLF-PGA/ (PREVIEW, PIX), expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, 400 words)

- - - -

OLYMPICS

Truth "too shocking" for IOC but pressure must stop-Vizer

BERLIN - SportAccord president Marius Vizer has urged the International Olympic Committee (IOC) to end pressure on federations to withdraw their membership of his organisation after he criticised the Olympic body last month. (OLYMPICS-SPORTACCORD/ (INTERVIEW), moved, by Karolos Grohmann, 500 words)

- - - -

CYCLING

Giro d'Italia, Stage 10 (to 31)

Contador leads by three seconds heading into stage 11

Overall leader Spaniard Alberto Contador of Tinkoff-Saxo has a three second advantage over Astana's Italian rider Fabio Aru going into the 11th stage over 153km from Forli to Imola. (CYCLING-GIRO/, expect by 1600 GMT/12 PM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

TENNIS

ATP: Nice Open, France (to 24)

Geneva Open, Geneva (to 24)

WTA: Strasbourg International, France (to 24)

Copy on merit

- - - -

NHL

Lightning host Rangers in Game Three

The Tampa Bay Lightning, led by leading playoff scorer Tyler Johnson, host the top-seeded New York Rangers in Game Three of the best-of-seven Eastern Conference final after splitting the first two games in the Big Apple. (NHL-PLAYOFFS/LIGHTNING (PIX), expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

NBA

LeBron's Cavs open series in Atlanta

LeBron James and the Clevelend Cavaliers visit the Eastern Conference's top-seeded Atlanta Hawks in the opening game of a best-of-seven series to determine which team will advance to the NBA Finals. (NBA-PLAYOFFS/HAWKS (PIX), expect by 0345 GMT/11:45 PM ET, 300 words)

- - - -

BASEBALL

Mets' Colon eyes seventh win of season

New York Mets pitcher Bartolo Colon will try to become the first seven-game winner on the season when he takes the mound versus the visiting St. Louis Cardinals in one of the 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, 800 words)

- - - -

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0000 GMT/8:00 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words) (Europe desk editor: Ken Ferris)

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.

World

X
Advertisement