Pulse.ng logo

Rauf Aregbesola Appeal Court validates Governor's 2014 election

The Appeal Court, sitting in Akure, has upheld the decision of the election petition tribunal which had affirmed the victory of Rauf Aregbesola in the August 9, 2014 Osun Sate governorship election.

  • Published:
Osun State Governor, Rauf Aregbesola play

Osun State Governor, Rauf Aregbesola

Justice Gana Mshelia-led Appeal Court unanimously dismissed the appeal of Iyiola Omisore of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) on the ground of incompetence.

The court accepted the argument of Aregebsola of the All Progressives Congress (APC) that Omisore’s petition ought to have been dismissed as an abandoned petition in the first instance by the State Election Petition Tribunal before hearing by the Justice Elizabeth Ikpejime-led tribunal.

Aregbesola was declared winner of the August 9 governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission, defeating Omisore and 18 other candidates.

The Governor polled 392, 284 votes while Omisore got 292, 742 votes, but the results were contested by Omisore and the Peoples Democratic Party.


Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.