Pulse.ng logo

PDP Court sacks 2 House of Reps members in opposition party

Two PDP Federal lawmakers have been sacked by an Abuja Federal High Court presided by Justice Okon Abang.

  • Published: , Refreshed:
Representational image play

Representational image

(News Express)

Two members of the House of Representatives,  who were elected under the platform of PDP, have been sacked by an Abuja Federal High Court on Monday, October 17, 2016.

According to a report by Premium Times, the sacked lawmakers, Stella Ngwu and Dennis Agbo, were sacked by the court, presided by Justice Okon Abang, for alleged wrongful emergence as flagbearers of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in the 2015 general elections.

The two lawmakers  from Enugu State representing Igbo-Etiti and Uzo-Uwani Federal Constituency, and Igbo-Eze North and Udenu Federal Constituency, are also expected to appeal the judgements.

The report further revealed that PDP members, Gabriel Okafor and Chijioke Ugwu, had filed two different suits to contest the PDP primaries in December 2014 which had Ngwu and Agbo emerging the party's representatives at the 2015 general elections.

Justice Abang upheld the arguments of Okafor and Ugwu and stated that the emergence of Ngwu and Agbo was unlawful, thus, they should vacate their seats.

ALSO READ: Court sacks PDP lawmaker over election fraud

Justice Abang further ordered Ngwu and Agbo to vacate their offices and return to the treasury of the National Assembly all monies they had collected as salaries and allowances since their resumption as federal lawmakers.

Both Okafor and Ugwu were also awarded the sum of N100,000 as cost against the defendants in favour of the plaintiff.

The judge also ordered INEC to issue certificates of return to Okafor and Ugwu immediately respectively.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.