Pulse.ng logo

Ondo Election PDP suspends 22 members of Sheriff's faction

The affected members were said to have been punished for their roles before and during the just concluded Ondo State governorship election.

  • Published:
Ali Modu Sheriff (L) and Ahmed Makarfi (R) play

Ali Modu Sheriff (L) and Ahmed Makarfi (R)


The Peoples Democratic Party in Ondo State has suspended 22 members of the party, most of who belong to the Ali Modu Sheriff faction.

This is coming three days after the party lost out in the governorship election in the state.

The suspension was announced in a letter signed by its Publicity Secretary of the party, Mr. Banji Okunomo.

It was gathered the suspended members allegedly worked against  the party before and during the November 26, which was won by Rotimi Akeredolu of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The affected PDP chieftains include Mr. Biyi Poroye, Denis Alonge, Ebenezer Alabi, Olabisi Johnson, Olu Ogunye, Omololu Meroyi, Yemi Ajonibode and Musa Megida.

Others are Isaac Alase, Sola Ebiseni, Ademola Genty, Yemisi Akinyemiju, Dare Emiola, Yemisi Akinmade, Ade Adebawore, Bakita Bello and Adegboruwa Taiwo.

ALSO READ: Sheriff’s faction blames Mimiko for PDP’s failure

The party also suspended Mr. Omowole Oluwagbehinmi, Gbamila Ogunji, Abiye Ademoyegun, Johnson Alabi and Dara Akinbobola.

As contained in the letter, the punishment was meted out on the members "In line with Section 57 of the constitution of our party and the inherent powers conferred on the State Working Committee of the party."

The party directed the affected members to appear before the disciplinary committee on Monday, December 5, 2016, at the party secretariat in Akure, the state capital.

Okunomo also clarified that, following the ruling of a Court of Appeal, the Ahmed Makarfi faction is the authentic state executive of the party.



Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.