Pulse.ng logo

Nigeria Elections 2015 Muhammadu Buhari emerges winner!

Muhammadu Buhari from the All Progressive Congress (APC) has won the 2015 Nigerian presidential election, beating incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan.

  • Published:

Muhammadu Buhari from the All Progressive Congress (APC) has won the 2015 Nigerian Presidential Elections, beating incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan, today, March 31, 2015.

According to the result so far released here by INEC Chairman Attahiru Jega, Buhari's APC won by 2.1 million votes, with 15.4 million votes versus 13.3 for Jonathan and the PDP.

The law requires a simple majority or 51 percent.

35 of Nigeria’s 36 states’ results had been announced. The only state yet to be announced is Borno - the centre of Boko Haram insurgency in the past two years.

The valid votes totalled about 38 million out about 68 million registered voters.

This is Buhari’s fourth attempt at contesting for the number one position in Nigeria.

Lai Mohammed, the spokesman for the APC, told the AFP news agency that his party had declared victory after pulling ahead in the votes.

The APC candidate won in 21 states including Kwara, Kogi, Ogun, Oyo, Benue, Gombe, Kano, Jigawa and his home state Katsina.

Muhammadu Buhari (born 17 December 1942) is a Nigerian politician and a retired Major General in the Nigerian Army who was Head of State of Nigeria from 31 December 1983 to 27 August 1985, after taking power in a military coup d'état.

He will be sworn in On May 29, 2015.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.