Pulse.ng logo

Nigeria Elections 2015 El-Rufai unseats incumbent governor with over 1 million votes

INEC announced that former FCT minister and APC candidate in Kaduna State gubernatorial race polled a total of 1,117,635 votes, to beat Governor Mukhtar Yero, who scored 485,833 votes.

  • Published: , Refreshed:

The candidate of the All Progressives congress (APC) in Kaduna State, Mallam Nasir El-rufai, has been officially announced as the winner of the April 11 governorship election in the state.

As declared by the Independent Electoral Commission’s Returning Officer in Kaduna State, Prof. Ja’afaru Kaura, El-rufai scored a total of 1,117,635 votes from across the 23 local government areas of the state, while his challenger, the sitting Governor of the state, Mukhtar  Yero of the People’s Democratic Party polled a total of 485,833 votes.

Pulse had reported that Governor Yero conceded defeat before the overall result was announced, and congratulated the former FCT Minister via the telephone and a radio broadcast.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.