Pulse.ng logo

National Assembly 15 Lawmakers you may not know [PHOTOS]

It has been observed that while some lawmakers have become popular, others choose to remain in the background.

  • Published: , Refreshed:
National Assembly complex, Abuja (Google) play

National Assembly complex, Abuja (Google)

The legislature is the arm of government saddled with the responsibility of making and enacting laws.

Nigeria operates a bicameral legislature; a system which allows for two chambers of the legislative arm namely the Senate and House of Representatives. These two bodies operate from a single building known as the National Assembly.

According to the 1999 Constitution, members of both chambers are elected for a four-year period. There are one hundred and nine (109) members in the Senate and three hundred and sixty (360) members in the House of Representatives.

The Senate leaders is referred to as the Senate President while his counterpart in the House of Representative is known as the Speaker.

It has been observed that while some lawmakers have become popular (for good or bad reasons), others choose to remain in the background.

Pulse has compiled a list of fifteen (15) lawmakers who are not as popular as the others.

1. Sulaiman Nazif;  Born on April 14, 1970, Senator Nazif was elected Senator for the Bauchi North federal constituency of Bauchi state on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Sulaiman Nazif play

Senator Sulaiman Nazif

2. Foster Ogola: Born in 1961, Senator Ogola represents Bayelse West Senatorial District of Bayelsa atate.

ALSO READ: Dino Melaye: Why APC has not sanctioned Senator yet

3. Rose Okoji: Born on September 27, 1956,  Senator Okoji is the senator representing Cross River North constituency.

Rose Okoji play

Senator Rose Okoji

4. Aisagbonriodion Urhoghide: Born on August 8, 1955, Senator Urhoghide is the lawmaker representing Edo South Senatorial district.

5. Danjuma La'ah: Senator La'ah is the lawmaker representing Kaduna South Senatorial District.

Senator Danjuma La'ah play

Senator Danjuma La'ah

6. Aruwa Gyunka: He represents Nassarawa North Senatorial District.

7. Adamu Kamale: Honourable Kamale represents Michika/Madagali federal constituency of Adamawa state.

8. Omar Tata: Honourable Tata represents Zaki federal constituency of Bauchi state.

Senator Omar Tata play

Senator Omar Tata (nass.gov.org)

9. Agbedi Yeitiemone:  Honourable Yeitiemone represents Sagbama/Ekeremor federal constituency of Bayelsa state at the House of Representatives.

10. Orker-Jev Yisa: Honourable Yisa represents Buruku federal constituency of Benue state.

Orker-Jev Yisa (Google) play

Orker-Jev Yisa (Google)

11. Ayi Ekpeyong: He represents Akpabuyo/Bakassi/Calabar South federal constituency of Cross River state.

ALSO READ: Saraki: Senate President says he’s still loyal to APC

12: Thaddeus Aina: He is the member representing Ekiti North constituency II at the House of Representatives.

14: Mohammed Onawo: He represents Awe/Doma/Keana federal constituency of Kaduna state.

Mohammed Onawo play

Mohammed Onawo (nass.gov.ng)

15. Lawali Hassan: Honourable Hassan represents Anka/Mafara federal constituency of Zamfara state.

EDITORS' NOTE: It is important to state that this article DOES NOT in anyway suggest that the above listed lawmakers are not performing their legislative duties.


Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.