15 Senators dump APC [FULL LIST]

The notice of their defection was contained in a letter to Senate President Bukola Saraki on Tuesday.

The notice of their defection was contained in a letter to Senate President Bukola Saraki on Tuesday, July 24, 2018.

Kwankwaso, Melaye and 11 others decamped to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Here is a full list of decampee lawmakers:

Senator Dino Melaye (Kogi West) and Rabiu Kwankwaso (Kano Central ) are two of the most notable lawmakers that dumped the APC for the PDP on Tuesday.

Others are Lanre Tejuoso (Ogun Central), Shaaba Lafiagi (Kwara North), Banabas Gemade (Benue North East), Rafiu Ibrahim (Kwara South), and Shitu Ubali (Jigawa North-East)

The others are Danbaba Ibrahim (Sokoto South), Usman Nafada (Gombe North), Nasif Nafada (Bauchi North), Isah Misau (Bauchi Central) and Suleman Hunkuyi (Kaduna North).

Senator Muritala Nyako (Adamawa Central) and Monsurat Sumonu (Oyo Central) defected from the APC to the African Democratic Congress (ADC), the political party adopted by the Coalition for Nigeria Movement (CNM) launched by former president, Olusegun Obasanjo.


Even though his name was read by Saraki as one of the PDP defectors, SenatorSoji Akanbi (Oyo South) has announced that it was a mistake and declared his commitment to the APC.

"I remain a bona fide, committed, unrepentant member of APC," he said.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng

Recommended articles

BUA cement donates N230m infrastructure to relocated communities in Sokoto

June 12: Police disperse protesters with tear gas in Calabar

June 12: Police disperse protesting Shi'ites in Abuja

June 12: Lagos Speaker urges youths to shun 'undemocratic protests'

No hajj for Nigerian Muslims as Saudi Arabia wants only residents to perform pilgrimage this year

June 12: Twitter CEO, Jack Dorsey tweets Nigerian flag to celebrate Democracy Day with Nigerians

Shi’ites join June 12 protesters in Abuja to demand Buhari’s resignation

June 12 protests hold in Ibadan and Osogbo as Youths demand better Nigeria

Gov Matawalle suspends third Zamfara traditional ruler over banditry allegations