Pulse.ng logo

In Oyo Gov. Ajimobi submits list of LG caretaker nominees to assembly

Why can't we have local government election in Oyo State, why do we have to have caretaker management?

  • Published:
Governor Abiola Ajimobi play

Governor Abiola Ajimobi

(News Break)

Gov. Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State on Tuesday submitted a list of 33 nominees to the state House Assembly for approval as Local Government Caretaker Transition Committee Chairmen.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the Speaker, Mr Michael Adeyemo, read out the names on the list on the floor of the House.

NAN also reports that nominees in the list included Yinka Akinbode for Ibadan North, Lekan Afuye, Ibadan North-East, Wasiu Olatunbosun, Ibadan North-West and Nojeem Abbas, Ibadan South-East.

Others are Rauf Folarin, Ibadan South-West, Azeez Oladejo, Ibarapa Central, Adelore Atanda, Ibarapa East and Tunji Omolewu, Ibarapa North.

Also on the list are Lukman Anwo, Opeyemi Salami and, Okeniyi Gbolagade, who are to oversee Afijo, Akinyele and Atiba Local Government Areas.

The Speaker directed each of the nominees to submit to the Clerk of the House 40 copies of their respective CVs within 48 hours, adding that their screening would commence next week.

But reacting to the announcement after the session, Hon. Muideen Olagunju (Accord --Oyo East/West) told newsmen that the caretaker arrangement was unconstitutional and undemocratic.

Olagunju said that the democratic system of election should be followed if anyone would hold office as a local government chairman.

"Why can't we have local government election in Oyo State, why do we have to have caretaker management?

"This practice should be discontinued.

"How can we continue to have people who are not elected by the people to be managing the affairs of our local governments?

"Our democratic system is no longer nascent,’’ he said.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.