Pulse.ng logo

In Nasarawa State Assembly approves petition of 3 councilors-elect

  • Published:
Plateau Assembly loses member play

Plateau Assembly loses member


Nasarawa State House of Assembly, has unanimously adopted the report of the committee that looked into the petition of three councillors-elect in Kokona local government area.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the three All Progressives Congress (APC) councilors-elect had petitioned the House that they should be sworn-in as in as councillors.

They also requested that they should be accorded all their rights and benefits having won their election.

The Committee on Public Complaint and Petition which looked into the petition submitted its report to the House on Monday.

The Chairman of the committee, Alhaji Mohammed Alkali, said the committee discovered that the petitioners won the election of March 22, 2014 in the area.

He added that they duly were issued Certificate of Returns by the Nasarawa State Independent Electoral Commission.

"So, there is no further question as to who won the election, '' Alkali said.

The Speaker, Alhaji Ibrahim Balarabe, directed the Clerk to communicate the resolution of the House to the chairman of Kokona Local Government Council.

The councilors-elect are: Shaibu Audu of Agwada ward, Abubakar Obagu of Koya ward and Jonathan Baba of Ninkoro ward.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.