Pulse.ng logo

In Bayelsa Supreme Court upholds Governor Dickson's election

The seven-man panel dismissed the appeal filed by Timipre Sylva, the candidate of the APC in the last governorship election.

  • Published:

The Supreme Court has upheld the election of  Governor Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa State.

A seven-man panel of the apex court headed by  Justice Tanko Muhammad, on Tuesday, November 8, unanimously affirmed Dickson's victory in the last governorship election in the state.

The court threw out the appeal filed by Timipre Sylva, the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate in the polls.

The judgement followed  a marathon hearing of various cases filed regarding the crisis which emanated from the gubernatorial election.

Justice Muhammad while delivering a summary of the lead judgment said he will explain why the panel made the decision on November 18.

ALSO READ: APC group urges Dickson to pay workers full salary

The Bayelsa election petition tribunal had dismissed Sylva's petition to challenge the outcome of the election.

Sylva then filed an appeal at the Court of Appeal in Abuja, which also threw out the case.

He went further to the Supreme Court to challenge the decision of the appeal court.


Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.